Dear Committee members,

The AIA New York Chapter (AIANY) and the American Society of Landscape Architects NY (ASLA NY) Chapter are launching the fifth round of the Transportation + Infrastructure Design Excellence Awards, which recognizes the design excellence of nationwide transportation and infrastructure-related projects.

Launched in 2018, this national awards program specifically recognizes the unique characteristics of transportation and infrastructure work at all scales. The program recognizes the civic importance of this work, and fosters dialogue about related projects and their essential role within the public realm. This awards program is co-organized by the AIANY Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and the American Society of Landscape Architects NY (ASLA NY) Chapter.

A qualified panel of jurors is being sought to review the submitted projects and help make this program a success. We are calling on you to nominate a potential juror who you believe is available, interested, and qualified. You are welcome to self-nominate. Once nominated, the prospective jurors will be contacted and the panel will be assembled. A nomination does not guarantee a place on the jury. Keep in mind that just as the Awards program is national, the jury pool can and should be national as well, so feel free to nominate candidates from beyond our membership.

Jurors should have experience in the realms of transportation and infrastructure and/or civic architecture as clients, designers, planners, landscape architects, educators, advocates, or other related backgrounds.

NOTE: Juror members as individuals and their current firms are precluded from submitting entries for award.

Tentative Schedule:

  • Q3 2023 – Launch
  • Q3 2023 – Submission Deadline
  • Q4 2023 – Provide Jurors with access to submissions
  • Q4 2023 – Jury day
  • Q1 2024 – Notify Winners
  • Q1 2024 – Event to announce winners, panel discussion

If you have an individual in mind, please provide that name/names and email address(es) to Aman Krishan, AIA, Gentry Lock, Jeff Dugan and/ or Tom Grassi, FAIA no later than Friday, July 28.