Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.

Upcoming Events


  • August 22, 2018

    In early 2007 the AIANY Transportation and Infrastructure Committee initiated a series of committee meetings and workshops with the goal of providing an evaluation of the City’s PlaNYC 2030 transportation initiatives by the professional design community.

    To provide context for the response, we offer a series of overall planning principles for a better city, developed by New York New Visions during their complimentary efforts, as well as five more detailed transportation principles.

    The response identifies the need to develop priorities, both to demonstrate that successful strategies can be achieved with “early action” plans and to sustain the longer-term programs or projects that will extend over many years and decades. The costs and benefits along with the need for public support, political capital and funding resources must be considered when establishing the priorities.

    Following this, the response analyzes the 16 transportation initiatives introduced in PlaNYC along with observations and comments. During the AIA/NYNV workshops, 4 additional initiatives were developed which could reinforce the goals of the City. We suggest that these be considered for incorporation when updating the plan in the future.

    This report was written by the AIANY Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and adopted by AIA New York as an official position in March 2008.

    Read the PDF of the report here: PlaNYC 2030 Transportation Initiatives: Response and Recommendations

  • After the devastation of Superstorm Sandy, AIA New York spearheaded a large set of collaborators to investigate the short, intermediate and long-term impacts of the storm and the escalating effects of climate change on New York City.  The precedents from other cities and regions that have suffered similar events serve as a best practices from which we can rely as we begin to build back better and smarter.

    Superstorm Sandy revealed that we have created a hard-to-defend interconnected built environment consisting of fragile land-use patterns, transport systems, storm water management and existing buildings.

    The goals and opportunities contained within the Post-Sandy Initiative will help reverse the vulnerability we have inherited from centuries of misguided development. Key concepts and findings include:

    • Defensive TRANSPORTATION & INFRASTRUCTURE planning with simple adaptive efforts and passive solutions.
    • Address HOUSING to define the unique needs of multi-family buildings during extreme events to affect appropriate support from centralized agencies, training and urban planning in flood zones / coastal areas that could increase community resiliency.
    • CRITICAL FACILITIES & BUILDING’S like hospitals, police and data centers must be able to withstand the effects of a disaster and remain in operation. Strategies of vulnerability assessments, technology updates and implementation plans are outlined.
    • Cultural attitudes now favor attempts to soften rather than harden WATERFRONT If we are to continue to adapt, we will need to be even more versatile in designing coastal built environments.

    The Transportation and Infrastructure Committee was responsible for the development of the Transportation and Infrastructure portion of this paper, which won an AIA National Award for advocacy.

    Learn more about the Post-Sandy Initiative here.

  • Part of the AIA New York Chapter’s 2012 platform, the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee’s position categorizes issues under Capacity, Efficiency, and Service & Safety/ Quality of Life. It acknowledges the remarkable collaboration of city agencies to tackle population growth,  sustainability, and response to climate change, and suggests how to keep up the momentum and expand on their efforts.

    Download a Word document of the committee’s position here: AIANY Platform 2012 – T+I Committee Position

  • AIA New York’s position statement on transportation and infrastructure emphasizes the role that the infrastructure systems of New York City play in the nation’s health and vitality, and the importance of federal funding sources to support these systems.

    Forward-thinking public growth and development policies and a strong commitment to the ongoing allocation of a dependable stream of federal funding for transportation and infrastructure are essential to avoid huge costs for deferred maintenance or even replacement of systems; to expand networks to support population growth, demographic changes, economic shifts, and related needs for development; and to act on vulnerabilities to our infrastructure from threats and hazards due to climate change, and other unforeseen events.

    The position statement includes guiding principles for the planning, provision, and protection of infrastructure.

    Read the PDF of the position statement here: Position Statement: Transportation and Infrastructure

  • This letter is AIA New York’s response and offer of support to Governor Cuomo’s recommended Transportation Reinvention Commission. This potential Metropolitan Transit Authority commission would be tasked to develop a plan for the future of the region. The Chapter’s 27 program committees are well suited with specialized knowledge to address the new challenges of increasing population and changing demographics, with specific mention of the AIANY Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

    Read the PDF of the letter here: Letter to Chairman Prendergast


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.