May 22, 2024
by: AIA New York

New Hires and Promotions

Copenhagen-headquartered Henning Larsen has welcomed Eric Ball, AIA, as its new Country Market Director for America. Ball joins the international architecture, landscape and urbanism studio with over 15 years of expertise and leadership in the industry, most recently as a Senior Director at Adjaye Associates in New York. In his new role, Ball will lead Henning Larsen’s New York studio, which opened in 2018, cultivating continued sustainable growth across the American market with a focus on core design values of quality, craft and community.

The Institute for Public Architecture announced the appointment of Janet Fink as Executive Director. Fink, who served the organization as Interim Executive Director since 2022, was officially promoted in March. Her involvement with the IPA extends back to 2020 when she joined as residency director.

The Brooklyn Studio, one of New York City’s leading rowhouse architecture and interior design firms, announced a significant addition to its team by welcoming Kimberly Neuhaus, AIA, founder of Neuhaus Design Architecture P.C., as a partner. She joins partners Brendan Coburn, FAIA, Jason Boutin, AIA, CPHD, LEED AP, and Jesse Fearins, AIA, LEED AP. The expanded partnership broadens and diversifies the firm’s leadership, building on its expertise in preserving New York City’s architectural heritage through the protection and reuse of historic structures dating back to the 19th century.

Brent Capron has joined global architecture and design firm Corgan as Interiors Studio Design Director and Associate Principal for its New York office.

Beyer Blinder Belle announced the promotion of five Principals, two Senior Associates, and 11 Associates, including Kerry Nolan, AIA, Henry Miller, AIA, CPHC, LEED AP, and Nate Rogers, AIA, as Principals. Promoted to Senior Associate were Susan Bopp, AIA, and Tim Gargiulo, AIA. Associate promotions include Emily Brewer, AIA, Denise Keaveney, AIA, and Amanda Mullen, AIA.

Ware Malcomb, an award-winning international design firm, announced David Jaffe has joined as Director of Architecture in its New York City office. In his new role, Jaffe will be responsible for the leadership, overall growth, and management of the Architecture Studio in New York.


Awards and Recognitions

The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize nominees have been announced along with a jury for the biennial award’s 5th cycle by the College of Architecture at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). Among the list of 219 nominated projects are many high-profile New York City buildings, such as 111 West 57th Street, The Brooklyn Tower, LEVENBETTS‘ East Flatbush Public Library, and the new Louis Armstrong Center in Queens.

In late January, Notre Dame’s School of Architecture announced that New York-based architect and author Peter Pennoyer, FAIA, won the 2024 Richard H. Driehaus Prize, with its honorarium of $200,000. Previous winners include such luminaries as Robert A.M. Stern, Michael Graves, Leon Kier, Andrés Duany, and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk.

The Architectural League of New York announced the winners of Dirty, the 43rd cycle of the annual Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. This year’s winners include Lola Ben-Alon of The Natural Materials Lab, Columbia University GSAPP, New York, and Chase Galis, Christina Moushoul, and Sonia Sobrino Ralston of Office Party, New York.


New Firm Announcements

The founder of the eponymous Billy Cotton Studio has launched an architecture firm, CTK. Named for its founders, Billy Cotton, Joerg Thoene, AIA, and Ilya Korolev, AIA, CTK is an architecture and project management firm with a focus on adaptive reuse, preservation, and new construction, spanning across both residential and commercial projects.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.