February 28, 2024
by: AIA New York

New Hires and Promotions

Principal and Co-Founder of Caples Jefferson Architects Sara Caples, AIA, has started a new position as William B. and Charlotte Shepherd Davenport Professor at Yale School of Architecture.

Nima Balasubramanian, RA, has joined the American Institute of Steel Construction as the Institute’s first director of market development for architecture. Balasubramanian will lead the development of AISC initiatives for steel architecture design, research, and innovation as the Institute works to build resources for and partnerships within the architecture community.

Katz Architecture has promoted Project Architect Ivan Silva, AIA, to Associate, Facade Compliance Specialist. Silva received his Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector (QEWI) certification in October of 2023, broadening the firm’s exterior services and technical expertise.


Academic, Institutional, and Government Appointments

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture  for Health (AAH) has appointed CPL‘s Michelle Trott, AIA, NCARB, ACHA, Vice President, to the role of 2024 Board President. Trott will preside over more than 9,000 volunteer members to advance the practice of architecture while upholding the AAH values of diversity, inclusion, and sustainability.

Two longterm members of the AIANY Committee on the Environment, Caleb Crawford, RA, LEED AP BD+C, CPHD, and Stephan Knust, AIA, LEED AP, WELL AP, CPHC, have been appointed senior sustainability roles for New York City: Crawford as Director of Sustainable Design and Resiliency at SCA (School Construction Authority) and Knust as Director of Sustainability, Resiliency and Commissioning at the DDC (Department of Design and Construction).

Awards and Recognitions

New York-based architecture firm WEISS/MANFREDI is the recipient of the 37th Louis I. Kahn Award, given by DesignPhiladelphia. The annual Louis I. Kahn Award, founded in 1983, is Philadelphia’s signature event honoring individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of architecture.

The Consortium for Sustainable Urbanization announced its 2024 CSU Gala Awardees: nARCHITECTS received the President’s Award, Former Director of Intergovernmental Support and Coordination for Sustainable Development at the United Nations Marion Barthélemy received the Chair’s Award, Climate Activist and Co-Founder of the Re-Earth Initiative Xiye Bastida received the Visionary Award, and University Architect at Princeton University Ron McCoy, FAIA, received the Sustainability Award. Read more about the awardees here.


Mergers, Expansions, and Changes

Alda Ly Architecture is now ALA Studio, a change that emphasizes that the firm Alda Ly founded back in 2017 is now bigger than just one person.

After 24 successful years as Founding Partners of Christoff:Finio Architecture, Taryn Christoff, AIA, and Martin Finio, FAIA, LEED, NCARB, have announced that they are now practicing independently.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.