Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
May 16, 2017
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

The 2017 AIA Brooklyn + Queens Design Awards honored Artist Residence by Lynch Eisinger Design Architects; Prismatic Bay Townhouse by Peterson Rich Office; Creston Avenue Residences by Magnusson Architecture and Planning; 365 Bond Street by Hill West Architects; Navy Green by FXFOWLE; Fulton Street Development by GreenbergFarrow; Elmhurst Community Library by Marpillero Pollak Architects; The Novogratz Center for Athletics by Jack L. Gordon Architects; Olmsted Center Annex by BKSK Architects; Park Slope Townhouse by GRADE; Spire Lofts by Zambrano Architectural Design; Maple Street School by Barker Freeman Design Office Architects, Marvel Architects, and 4Mative Design Studio; Warehouse Loft by studio modh architecture; Resort in the Maharashtra Hills by Khanna Schultz; Josai i-House Dormitory by Studio SUMO; Courtyard House by vonDalwig Architecture; North Brother Island School + Habitat by Ian M. Ellis and Frances Peterson; 1490 Southern Boulevard by Bernheimer Architecture; and Brooklyn Cinematic Hotel by Yasmine Zeghar.

The 207 AIA New York State Excelsior Awards honored NYC-based projects the Public Safety Answering Center II and John Jay College of Criminal Justice by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill; Ocean Breeze Indoor Athletic Facility by Sage and Coombe Architects; Boston Road Supportive Housing by Alexander Gorlin Architects; The Javits Center by FXFOWLE; Beacon High School by John Ciardullo Associates; and 195 Broadway Lobby and Retail Space by Gabellini Sheppard Associates.

The NYC Public Design Commission’s 2017 Excellence in Design Awards were given to 11 projects: the Bronx Bomb Squad by Rice + Lipka Architects and Liz Farrell Landscape Architecture; Treetop Adventure Zipline and Nature Trek by Tree-Mendous; the Greenpoint Library and Environmental Education Center by Marble Fairbanks and SCAPE Landscape Architecture; Double Sun at McCarren Park Pool by Mary Temple; FIT New Academic Building by SHoP Architects and Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects; Downtown Far Rockaway Streetscape by W Architecture and Landscape Architecture; Woodside Office, Garage, and Inspection Facility by TEN Arquitectos and W Architecture and Landscape Office; The Cubes Administration and Education Building at Socrates Sculpture Park by LOT-EK; the Upstate Watershed by the Department of Environmental Protection Green Infrastructure program; Tottenville Shoreline Protection by Stantec and RACE Coastal Engineering; and the Conservation and Relocation of three WPA murals from Roosevelt Island by EverGreene Architectural Arts, Fine Art Conservation Group, Morphosis, and WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism.

The Cooper Hewitt’s 2017 National Design Awards honored NYC-based Susan S. Szenasy, Hon. AIANY, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Metropolis; the Design Trust for Public Space; Deborah Berke Partners; Slow and Steady Wins the Race; and Joe Doucet…At the fifth-annual Architizer A+ Awards Gala, architects honored NYC-based Emerging Firm of the Year Büro Koray Duman…The MASterworks Awards for Design Excellence celebrated The Montauk Club by Bone/Levine architects (Best Restoration), A/D/O by nARCHITECTS (Best Adaptive Reuse), New Lab by Marvel Architects and Macro-Sea, New York Public Library – 53rd Street Branch by TEN Arquitectos (Best New Urban Amenity), Public Safety Answering Center II by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (Best New Infrastructure); Governors Island Phase 2: The Hills by West 8 (Best New Urban Landscape); and the Roy and Diana Vagelos Center by Diller Scofidio + Renfro with Gensler (Best New Building).

Former WATG CEO and President Mike Seyles will lead BuroHappold’s US operations as President and Managing Director… Perkins + Will has appointed Brent Capron, AIA, as the new Interior Design Director for the firm’s New York office.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience the full features of the Black Frame website. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.