March 22, 2017
by AIA New York Chapter

This year, the American Institute of Architects elevated 178 of its members to the College of Fellows, an honor awarded to those who have made contributions of national significance to the profession. No less than 18 of these architects are members of the AIA New York Chapter, who were honored at a special New Fellows Reception at AIANY’s Center for Architecture on March 13:

Ann Marie Baranowski, FAIA, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Patrick J. Burke, FAIA, Columbia University, Capital Projects Management
John Cetra, FAIA, CetraRuddy Architecture DPC
William H. Cunningham, FAIA, Cornell University Medical Coll.
Robert Eisenstat, FAIA, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Thomas Grassi, FAIA, HNTB Architecture
Gary P. Haney, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill LLP
Kevin Hom, FAIA, Kevin Hom Architects PC
Timothy J. Johnson, FAIA, NBBJ
Paul M. Lewis, FAIA, LTL Architects, PLLC
Daniel Libeskind, FAIA, Studio Daniel Libeskind
L. Reynolds Logan, Jr., FAIA, Richard Meier & Partners LLP
Elisabeth Martin, FAIA, MDA designgroup
Daria F. Pizzetta, FAIA, H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture LLC
Michael Plottel, FAIA, Columbia University facilities and operations, planning/capital project management
C. Jane Smith, FAIA, IIDA, Spacesmith, LLP
Kalavati A. Somvanshi, FAIA
Howard L. Zimmerman, FAIA, Howard L. Zimmerman, Architects, P.C.

Jeffrey Shumaker, AICP, Assoc. AIA joins Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates as Director of Urban Planning and Design. He was previously stationed as Chief Urban Designer for the New York City Department of City Planning (DCP).

Christopher Gray, a celebrated architecture writer and researcher widely known for his “Streetscapes” column in The New York Times, has died at age 66.

Jeanne Gang, FAIA, LEED AP has been named a 2017 Honorary Fellow by The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC). The other Fellows are Brian Carter and Annette W. LeCuyer, professors of architecture at the University of Buffalo.

Lauren Rottet, FAIA, FIIDA, NCARB, Founding Principal and President of Rottet Studio, will speak at NeoCon 2017 on “Hospitality Comes to the Office.” Alexander Lamis, FAIA, partner, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, will also speak at NeoCon 2017. His topic is “A Designer’s Guide to Product Licensing.”

BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group has launched an in-house engineering department, BIG Engineers, to work on technically ambitious projects. BIG Engineering will be run by Duncan Horswill, the former chief operating officer at Søren Jensen Engineers and co-founder of design group at Ramboll UK.

Lawrence E. Keenan, AIA, PE will assume management of the technical staff at Hoffmann Architects’ Hamden, Connecticut headquarters from Arthur L. Sanders, AIA, who managed the Connecticut technical staff for nearly 20 years.

Claudia Woods, Assoc. AIA has returned to architecture and design firm ForrestPerkins to lead the New York City design studio. Woods has previously been stationed at Rockwell Group, Yoo USA, and Clodagh Design.

Elisabeth Post-Marner, AIA has joined architecture and interior design firm Spacesmith as principal. A former president of the IIDA New York Chapter, Post-Marner has served as Principal and Director of Corporate Interiors for Perkins Eastman and Principal and Director of Workplace Strategy for Gensler’s New York City office.

Jean-Gabriel Neukomm, AIA, formerly Principal of SPAN Architecture, has opened JG Neukomm Architecture, a new firm with 12 employees.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.