April 20, 2011
by admin
04.12.11: More than 600 members of the architectural and related communities convened at Cipriani Wall Street to honor the 2011 Design Awards at the annual Design Awards Luncheon. The Luncheon also serves as a benefit for the Center for Architecture and its ongoing mission to promote design excellence.

Robert A. Ivy, FAIA, EVP/Chief Executive Officer, American Institute of Architects, gave the keynote address.

Sam Lahoz

Margaret O’Donoghue Castillo, AIA, LEED AP, 2011 AIANY President, and Keynote Speaker Robert A. Ivy, FAIA.

Sam Lahoz

Luncheon Chair Anthony P. Schirripa, FAIA, IIDA, 2010 AIANY President and Chairman of Mancini Duffy (left) with Tod Williams, AIA, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects.

Sam Lahoz

(L-R): Elizabeth Diller, Ricardo Scofidio, AIA and Charles Renfro, AIA.

Sam Lahoz

(L-R): Ed Farrell, AIANYS Executive Director; Kenneth Levien, AIA, Levien & Company; Hannah O’Grady, Deputy Director, ACEC; Thomas Fariello, RA, Brooklyn Borough Commissioner; Rick Bell, FAIA, AIANY Executive Director; Gail Rothstein, Vice President, NYC EDC.

Sam Lahoz

04.14.11: The 2011 Design Awards Exhibition opening at the Center for Architecture celebrated the unveiling of the work of award recipients.

(L-R): Michael Quinlan, Trespa; Rose Markov, AIANY Global Dialogues Committee; 2011 AIANY President Margaret O’Donoghue Castillo, AIA, LEED AP; Herb Larsen, Trespa.

Sam Lahoz

Guests viewing the exhibition.

Sam Lahoz

Architect Manuel Ferreyra, of the Colegio de Arquitectos Del Peru — Regional Lima, visited the Center for Architecture on 04.19.11.

Ferreyra met with AIA New York Chapter Executive Director Rick Bell, FAIA, to review the terms of the Institutional Cooperation Agreement between CAP-LIMA and AIANY.

Laura Trimble

(L-R): Cynthia Kracauer, AIA, LEED AP, AIANY Managing Director; Henry Zachary, AIANY Finance Director; Ferreyra; and Bell in the Helfand Gallery.

Laura Trimble

04.06.11: FIGMENT hosted its annual fundraiser, “Groundbreaking,” to support its summer-long programs on Governors Island, including a sculpture garden, mini-golf course, and the City of Dreams Pavilion, which was the result of a competition hosted in partnership with the AIANY Emerging New York Architects Committee (ENYA), and the Structural Engineers Association of New York (SEAoNY). At the event, the winner of the competition was announced: Brooklyn-based Bittertang will create “Burble Bup,” an installation made with earthen walls and inflatables. Click here to read more about the project and to see the runners-up.

Bittertang’s Claire Vitto and Michael Loverich with their model of Burble Bup.

Tes Rivera

(L-R): Kristin LaBuz of the Design Trust for Public Space; Brynnemarie Lanciotti, Assoc. AIA, AIANY ENYA co-chair; and Claire Vitto of Bittertang.

Jessica Sheridan

03.15.11: In celebration of Women’s History Month, the New York Commercial Real Estate Women (NYCREW) Network hosted a Leading Ladies’ panel event discussing the critical role Emily Warren Roebling played in the construction of the Brooklyn Bridge, and the work of women today in building bridges around the city and beyond.

Speakers (l-r): Moderator Wanda Bubriski, Beverly Willis Architecture; Clare Weisz, AIA, WXY Architecture + Urban Design and The Design Trust for Public Space; Courtney Clark, Weidlinger Associates; Andrea Woodner, The Design Trust for Public Space; and Emily Warren Roebling’s great-great grandson Kristian Roebling, Roebling Museum.


04.11.11: As part of the OCULUS Book Talk monthly series, architecture critic and author Witold Rybczynski, AIA, presented his new book, Makeshift Metropolis: Ideas About Cities. He examined current approaches and the future of urban planning through the lens of historical examples, such as the City Beautiful movement. “If you make a list of the great buildings that we admire, 90% of them were built between 1900 and 1929,” said Rybczynski.

(L-R): Anna Torriani, AIA, Co-chair, AIANY Public Architecture Committee; Miguel Baltierra, Assoc. AIA, AIANY Oculus Committee; Witold Rybczynski, AIA; Maxinne Leighton, Assoc. AIA, AIANY Oculus Committee; Kirsten Sibilia, Assoc. AIA, Chair, Oculus Committee, and AIANY Executive Director Rick Bell, FAIA.

Murrye Bernard


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.