August 30, 2023
by: AIA New York

New Hires and Promotions

Vincent Sorge has joined Ware Malcomb as Director, Interior Architecture & Design in their New York office. Also in New York, Ware Malcomb promoted Damian Melo to Director, Interior Architecture & Design. And in Newark, the firm has promoted Meera Bahukutumbi to Studio Manager, Interior Architecture & Design.

Robert A.M. Stern Architects (RAMSA) has just appointed two new Partners, Gemma Kim and Kevin Kelly, to the firm’s partnership and named Lisa Matkovic as its first ever CEO.

Array Architects welcomes Maureen Carley-Vallejo, IIDA, NCIDQ, as Director of Interior Design at their New York City studio.

Academic, Institutional, and Government Appointments

The Cooper Union has announced an update in its search to find a new permanent Dean of The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture. In a letter to the schoolwide community, the Board of Trustees announced the continuation of Hayley Eber as Acting Dean and the addition of South African-born architect Mokena Makeka as its first Special Advisor to the Vice President of Academic Affairs following an exhaustive two-year community feedback process.

Awards and Recognitions

nARCHITECTS has received the 2023 National Design Award in Architecture from Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum.

Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation has announced its annual BEVY Leadership Awards Celebration honorees: Elizabeth Velez, Velez Organization; Elizabeth Leber, AIA, LEED AP, Beyer Blinder Belle; Mónica Ponce De León, AIA, Princeton University; Mariana Giraldo, Perkins&Will; Christopher Hawthorne, Yale University; Rosalind Tsang, AIA, LEED AP, Building Design Partnership.

Architectural Record has announced the 2023 recipients of the Women in Architecture Design Leadership Awards: Anne Marie Duvall Decker, Rosalie Genevro, Andrea Leers, Jane Weinzapfel, Julie Snow, and Dr. Sharon Egretta Sutton.

This year, Historic Districts Council (HDC) will present Michael Devonshire with the Landmarks Lion Award at its annual gala on November 15, 2023.

Interior Design has named its 2023 Hall of Fame inductees: Carlos M. Martínez Flórez, Managing Director, Principal of Gensler; Joshua Aidlin and David Darling, Founders of Aidlin Darling Design; and Suzanne Tick, Textile Designer and Weaver. For the first time, a special Icon Award will be presented to David Rockwell, FAIA, Founder and President of Rockwell Group, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.