October 14, 2016
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

The winners of the 2016 AIA New York State Design Awards are: Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for the Upper East Side Apple Store; Iu + Bibliowicz Architects for Carnegie Hall Studio Towers; Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners for The Met Breuer; Dattner Architects for Manhattan District 1/2/5 Garage and Spring Street Salt Shed and 34th Street – Hudson Yards Station; WXY architecture + urban design for Manhattan District 1/2/5 Garage and Spring Street Salt Shed; Peter Marino Architect for Boontheshop; WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism for Novartis Visitors Reception and Marshall Family Performing Arts Center; SPAN Architecture for Calvin Klein Shenyang and Westport Pool House; FXFOWLE Architects for the Bilkent Erzurum Laboratory School; OLI Architecture for Mu Xin Art Museum; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill for the U.S. Air Force Academy’s Center for Character & Leadership Development; Gensler for the Dwight Englewood Hajjar STEM Center; Perkins Eastman Architects for the East Harlem Center for Living and Learning; Collective-LOK for Van Alen Institute; Desai Chia Architecture for Photographer’s Loft; asap / adam sokol architecture practice for Apartment of Perfect Brightness; KieranTimberlake for Pound Ridge House; Bates Masi + Architects for Underhill; Tsao & McKown Architects for Astrid Hill House; Leroy Street Studio for The Shore House; Alloy Design for DUMBO Townhouses and One John Street; Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates for 500 West 21st Street; Deborah Berke Partners for Tiny House; STADTArchitecture for Upper West Side Apartment; CetraRuddy Architecture for Choice School; and Dioinno Architecture for High Living.

AIANYS announced the winners of its Honors Awards at the 2016 Saratoga Design Conference: Judith Bergtraum, Hon. AIANYS, Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning, Construction, and Management at the City University of New York (Honorary Membership); David Burney, FAIA,  Associate Professor, Grad Center for Planning, Pratt Institute (James William Kideney Gold Medal); Makenzie Leukart, Assoc. AIA, Junior Architectural Designer, Marvel Architects (Student Award); Raymond Beeler, AIA, Co-founder, Gallin Beeler Design Studio, and Sherida Paulsen, FAIA, Principal, PKSB (Matthew W. Del Gaudio Service Award); Bruce S. Fowle, FAIA, LEED AP, Principal, FXFOWLE Architects (President’s Award); WXY architecture + urban design (Firm of the Year Award); Design Trust for Public Space (The Frederic Schwartz Community Development Award); Burton L. Roslyn, FAIA, President, Roslyn Consultants, and John R. Sorrenti, FAIA, Founder and President, JRS Architect (Fellows Award); Robert Eisenstat, AIA, Chief Architect, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller Award); Peter T. Flynn, AIA, Design Principal, Flynn Battaglia Architects (Henry Hobson Richardson Award); Ruben Ramales, Assoc. AIA, Outreach Coordinator, The Trust for Public Land, and David Flecha, Assoc. AIA, Job Captain, LB Architects (Intern-Associate Award); and Phinney Design Group for the Wild Center in Tupper Lake, NY (People’s Choice Award).

Cynthia Kracauer, AIA, LEED AP, former Managing Director of the Center for Architecture, has been named Executive Director of the Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation.

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill has named Thomas Behr, AIA, LEED AP, Partner; and Chris Cooper, AIA, LEED AP, and Olin McKenzie, AIA, have been promoted to Directors in the New York City office …Experience design firm ESI Design has hired Anthony Deen, Assoc. AIA, as its new Director of Physical Design.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.