Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
December 17, 2014
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

The AIANY 2014 COTE: Proof + Beauty Awards honored the Kohler Environmental Center by Robert A.M. Stern Architects; Whole Foods (Brooklyn) by BL Companies; and Bushwick Inlet Park by Kiss + Cathcart, Architects

The Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation’s Built by Women New York City Competition (BxW NYC) honored the following women in architecture and design: Claire Weisz, FAIA, Principal, WXY Architecture + Urban Design; Laurie Hawkinson, Partner, Smith-Miller+Hawkinson Architects; Diana Agrest, Principal, Agrest and Gandelsonas Architects; Fay Kellogg, Architect; Joan Blumenfeld, FAIA, IIDA, LEED ID+C, Interior Design Leader, and Eva Maddox, Assoc. AIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, Design Principal, Perkins+Will, Annabelle Selldorf, FAIA, Principal, Selldorf Architects; Deborah Berke, FAIA, LEED AP, Partner, Deborah Berke Partners; Carol Rusche Bentel, FAIA, Partner, Bentel & Bentel Partners; Natalie de Blois, FAIA, Senior Designer, Marilyn Jordan Taylor, FAIA, Partner, and Lisa Gould, Director of Education, Science, and Health Practice, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM); Karla Rothstein, AIA, Principal/Design Director, Latent Productions; Roberta Washington, FAIA, Principal, Roberta Washington Architects; Nicole Hollant-Denis, AIA, Principal, Aaris Atepa Architects; Elizabeth Diller, Principal, Diller, Scofidio + Renfro; Sylvia Smith, FAIA, Senior Partner, and Heidi Blau, FAIA, Partner, FXFOWLE Architects; Billie Tsien, Principal, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects; Maryann Thompson, AIA, Principal, Maryann Thompson Architects; Laurinda Spear, FAIA, RLA, ASLA, LEED AP, Principal, Arquitectonica; Marion Weiss, FAIA, Principal, Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; Susan Rodriguez, FAIA, Partner, Ennead Architects; Judith Saltzman, LEED AP, and Roz Li, LEED AP, Principals, Li-Saltzman Architects; Wendy Evans Joseph, FAIA, LEED AP, Principal, Studio Joseph; Audrey Matlock, FAIA, Principal, Audrey Matlock Architects; Toshiko Mori, FAIA, Principal, Toshiko Mori Architect; Joan Krevlin, FAIA, Partner, and Julie Nelson, AIA, Project Architect, BKSK Architects, Sara Caples, AIA, Principal, Caples Jefferson Architects; Jill Lerner, FAIA, Principal, and Hana Kassem, Director, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (KPF); Iris Weinshall, CUNY Vice Chancellor of Planning; Gillian Small, CUNY Vice Chancellor of Research; SawTeen See, Managing Partner, Leslie E. Roberts Associates; Read Weber and Taina Waisman, Partners, Katz Waisman Weber Straus; Susan Niculescu, Ph.D., AIA, LEED AP, Principal, HOK; Yvonne Szeto, FAIA, Partner, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects; Beverly Willis, FAIA, Architect; Jane Smith, AIA, IIDA, Partner, Spacesmith; Kate Orff and Elena Brescia, Partners, SCAPE/LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE; Laura Starr, ASLA, Principal, Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects and Planners; Lisa Easton, AIA, Partner, Easton Architects; Elizabeth Kennedy, Principal, Elizabeth Kennedy Landscape Architect; Katherine Bridges, ASLA, Landscape Architect, NYC Department of Parks & Recreation; Nancy Owens, RLA, LEED AP, Principal, Nancy Owens Studio; Signe Nielsen, FASLA, Kim Mathews, ASLA, and Molly Bourne, ASLA, Principals, and Lisa DuRussel, ASLA, LEED AP, Senior Landscape Architect, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects; Jamie Maslyn Larson, Principal, West 8 Urban Design and Landscape Architecture; Annette Wilkus, Principal, SiteWorks Landscape Architecture; Judith Heintz, Landscape Architect, Central Park Conservancy; Lisa Switkin, Partner-in-Charge, Nahyun Hwang, Senior Associate, Justine Heilner, Director of Business Development and Marketing, Lara Shihab Eldin, Project Designer, Sierra Bainbridge, Maura Rockcastle, Isabel Castilla, Kimberly Cooper, Elizabeth Fain La Bombard, and Megan Born, Associates, Karen Tamir, Senior Associate, and Stephanie Ulrich, Project Designer, James Corner Field Operations; Beth Greenberg, AIA, Principal, Dattner Architects; Beatrix Farrand, Landscape Designer, Lynden Miller, Principal, Public Garden Design; Billie Cohen, Principal/Landscape Architect, Billie Cohen; Barbara Wilks, FAIA, FASLA, Principal, W Architecture & Landscape Architecture; Ellen Biddle Shipman, Landscape Designer; Annette Hoyt Flanders, Landscape Architect; Mary Rutherford Jay, Garden Architect; Winka Dubbeldam, Assoc. AIA, Principal, ARCHI-TECTONICS; Josephine Wright Chapman, Architect; Beverly Loraine Greene, Architect, MetLife; Linda Tonn, AIA, and Judith Kunnoff, AIA, Chief Architect, MTA-NYCT; Virgina Borkoski, AIA, MTA-CC; Page Cowley, AIA, Partner, Page Ayres Cowley Architects, Anne Marie Baranowski, AIA, Consultant, Arts for Transit, Eve Michel, AIA, VP and Chief Architect, Capital Construction, MTA; Margaret Kittinger, Partner, and Jean Campbell, Associate, Beyer Blinder Belle Architect & Planners; Frances Halsband, FAIA, Partner, Kliment Halsband Architects.

Architectural Record’s 2014 Design Vanguard winners include AIANY New Practices New York 2014 winner NAMELESS Architecture, Andrés Jaque/Office for Political Innovation, and Aranda/LaschArchitect magazine’s 2014 Annual Design Review winners include: The Novartis Visitor Reception Center, the Novartis Office Building 335, and the Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology by Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; the Editions de Parfums Frédéric Malle Store by Steven Holl Architects; the Danish Maritime Museum by BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group; the Centro de Artes Nadir Afonso and Village Health Works Staff Housing by Louise Braverman, Architect; St. Elizabeth’s East Gateway Pavilion and the National September 11 Memorial Museum by Davis Brody Bond; Zerega Avenue EMA by SMH+U;  William Jones College Preparatory High School by Perkins+Will; and Henderson-Hopkins School by Rogers Partners Architecture+Urban Designers

The School of Visual Arts has opened offices in Seoul and Shanghai…

Ennead Architects has opened an office in Shanghai, to be led by Associate Principal Grace Chen

Richard Clarke has been named Director of Integrated Design at EYP Architecture & EngineeringStephen Kim, AIA, LEED AP; Alex Pollock, AIA, LEED AP BD+C; Michael Buesing, AIA, LEED AP; Brien McDaniel; Scott Melching, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, GRP; Bill Doherty, LEED GA; and Sarah Gerber, AIA, LEED GA, have been promoted to Senior Associates at FXFOWLE.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.