July 10, 2013
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

Finalists in the 2013 Urban Land Institute Global Awards for Excellence Competition include the New York-based firms Deborah Berke Partners (21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati), Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (Hysan Place and Infinity Tower), Bjarke Ingels Group/BIG (Superkilen), Handel Architects (Territoria 3000), Dattner Architects & Grimshaw (Via Verde – The Green Way), NBBJ (Amazon.com Global Headquarters), and Samoo (D-Cube City).

The Society of American Registered Architects New York Council’s 2013 Design Awards honored the following firms: SHoP Architects (Barclays Center); Rafael Viñoly Architects (121st Police Precinct Stationhouse, Carrasco International Airport, firstsite:newsite and Cleveland Museum of Art); Dattner Architects (Via Verde, 97 Crooke Avenue Supportive Affordable Housing, Cordish Family Pavilion at Princeton University and New Settlement Community Campus); Grimshaw Architects (Via Verde); Desai Chia Architecture (LM Guest House), GLUCK+ (Town House and House in the Mountains); Elmslie Osler Architect (Anthropologie Oklahoma City); Perkins+Will (Hanwha 63 Convention Center, Sheikh Zayed Tower, and Charlotte R. Bloomberg Children’s Center); Shelton, Mindel + Associates (Historic Manhattan Townhouse and Manhattan Duplex); Howard L. Zimmerman Architects (Congregation Emanu-el); Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects (St. Patrick’s Cathedral Rectory); Swanke Hayden Connell Architects (256 Broadway); Cooper Joseph Studio (Webb Chapel Park Pavilion and Loft for a Painter); Ismael Leyva Architects (Icon); BRB Architects (Molloy College Public Square); Ennead Architects (Stanford University Law School, William H. Neukom Building at Stanford University, The Yale University Art Gallery, and The Public Theater at Astor Place); Architecture + Information (Vera Wang Office); Bentel & Bentel Architects (Riverpark, Grand Hyatt NY, and Le Bernadin); John Chu (Harper-Wong Residence); Jason Van Nest, Mathew Ford & William Martin (BEDIM); Cannon Design (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Lincoln Hall, and Kaleida Health Gates Vascular Institute); Edelman Sultan Knox Wood / Architects (New Settlement Community Campus); Bone/Levine Architects (House for the Exs); and Scarano Architects (Sanctuary Condos).

Mancini Duffy
announced the retirement of firm President Dina Frank, AIA, IIDA, who will be succeeded by Theodore Hammer, FAIA, LEED AP, along with the promotions of Avery Miyasato Handy, CID, IIDA, and Scott Harrell, LEED AP, to Principals of the firm…

Landscape architect Donna Walcavage, FASLA, LEED AP, has joined the Manhattan practice of the design firm Stantec as a Principal.

Dr. Sara Rosenbloom has been appointed the new editor of the Journal of the American Planning Association


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.