May 15, 2013
by: Camila Schaulson Frenz

Via Verde, designed by Dattner Architects and Grimshaw Architects, has won both an AIA/HUD Secretary Award for Outstanding Housing Projects, and an AIA 2013 Housing Award. The project is also one of the Silver Medalist winners of the 2013 Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence.

The Museum of the Moving Image by LEESER Architecture was awarded a 2013 Red Dot Design Award.

The 2013 Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards winners include New York-based James Wines of SITE (Lifetime Achievement); Michael Sorkin (Design Mind); Paula Scher of Pentagram (Communication Design); and Local Projects (Interaction Design).

Brooklyn-based MARC FORNES / THEVERYMANY and Young Projects are among six winners of the Architectural League Prize 2013 for Young Architects + Designers. The firm was also a AIANY 2012 New Practices New York winner.

At its annual meeting, the Preservation League of New York State presented Excellence in Historic Preservation Awards to the following projects: New York State Capitol, Restoration of Skylights and Laylights, Albany (James Jamieson AIA, Capitol Architect, NYS Office of General Services, and Mesick Cohen Wilson Baker Architects); East 180th Street Station, Bronx (Judith Kunoff, AIA, Chief Architect, MTA, New York City Transit, and Lee Harris Pomeroy Architects; Keramos Hall, Brooklyn (Kamen Tall Architects); Hotel @ The Lafayette, Buffalo (Carmina Wood Morris); The TAUNY Center, Canton (Crawford & Stearns); The Central Trust Building, Rochester (Bero Architecture). This statewide awards program honors notable achievements in retaining, promoting, and reusing New York State’s architectural heritage.

SHoP Architects Co-Founders Christopher Sharples, AIA, Coren Sharples, AIA, William Sharples, AIA, Kimberly Holden, AIA, and Greg Pasquarelli, AIA, of SHoP Architects were named #89 in the New York Observer’s 6th annual Commercial Observer’s Power 100 List. Also on the list was MaryAnne Gilmartin (80), AIANY’s Public Director and CEO of Forest City Ratner Companies.

David Rockwell, AIA, of the Rockwell Group, has been nominated for two Tony Awards for his scenic design for Broadway shows, the play Lucky Guy and the musical Kinky Boots.

Gina A. Bedoya, FSMPS, CPSM, has joined Pei Partnership Architects as Director of Business Development and Marketing… Lehrer has appointed Norbert W. Young, FAIA, as Executive Vice President to head up the construction technology practice.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.