March 14, 2019
by: AIA New York
2019 AIANY Luncheon Blast Landing Page

AIA New York is preparing to celebrate the honorees of its 14th annual Honors and Awards Luncheon on April 15 at Cipriani Wall Street (#AIANYawards). Selected by the AIANY Honors Committee (Hayes Slade, AIA, Slade Architecture; Louise Braverman, FAIA, Louise Braverman Architect; David Burney, FAIA, Pratt Institute; Christopher Cooper, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill; Elizabeth Leber, AIA, LEED AP, Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners; 
Astrid Lipka, AIA, Rice+Lipka Architects; Robert Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners
; Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA,  AIA New York | Center for Architecture; and Suzanne Mecs, Hon. AIANYS, AIA New York), this year’s inductees include Deborah Berke, FAIA, LEED AP, of Deborah Berke Partners; Rosanne Haggerty of Community Solutions; and Cindy Allen of Interior Design magazine.

The Luncheon also honors the recipients of the AIA New York Design Awards, and serves as an important fundraiser for AIA New York and its ongoing mission to show that design matters. Get the know the honorees below.


Deborah Berke, FAIA, LEED AP
Deborah Berke is the founder of the New York-based architecture firm Deborah Berke Partners. Since 1982, the practice has created a body of work with a distinct and lasting character, all of which is informed by Deborah’s vision and values. In 2013, she received the first Berkeley-Rupp award, given by the University of California at Berkeley to an architect who has advanced the position of women in the profession, and whose work emphasizes a commitment to sustainability and community. In 2017, Deborah Berke Partners received the National Design Award from the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum.

Deborah is the Dean of the School of Architecture at Yale University, where she has taught since 1987. She is on the boards of the James Howell Foundation and the Yaddo Artist’s Residency and is an honorary Trustee of the Norman Foster Foundation.

Deborah is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design (B.F.A. and B. Architecture) and The City University of New York (M. Urban Planning in Urban Design). She received an Honorary Doctorate of Fine Arts from the Rhode Island School of Design.


Rosanne Haggerty
Rosanne Haggerty is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Community Solutions. She is an internationally recognized leader in developing innovative strategies to end homelessness and strengthen communities. Community Solutions assists communities throughout the US and internationally in solving the complex housing problems facing their most vulnerable residents. Their large scale change initiatives include the 100,000 Homes and Built for Zero Campaigns to end chronic and veteran homelessness, and neighborhood partnerships that bring together local residents and institutions to change the conditions that produce homelessness.  Earlier, she founded Common Ground Community, a pioneer in the design and development of supportive housing and research-based practices that end homelessness.

Ms. Haggerty was a Japan Society Public Policy Fellow, and is a MacArthur Foundation Fellow,

Ashoka Senior Fellow, Hunt Alternative Fund Prime Mover and the recipient of honors including the Jane Jacobs Medal for New Ideas and Activism from the Rockefeller Foundation, Social Entrepreneur of the year from the Schwab Foundation, Cooper Hewitt/Smithsonian Design Museum’s National Design Award and Independent Sector’s John W. Gardner Leadership Award. She is a graduate of Amherst College and Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.


Cindy Allen
Cindy Allen, Hon. IIDA, is widely lauded as one of the most influential advocates for the interior design industry. With more than 17 years as editor in chief, she has established herself as a force in elevating the brand’s importance and exposure.

Allen is an industry champion, promoting both the giants of design and its rising stars. She has published nine books on design, with the latest edition covering a decade of the industry’s best. An early adopter of media as a communications tool, she has also made over 80 short documentaries. Allen actively participates in panels, roundtables, and industry events worldwide.

Allen received an Honorary Doctorate from the New York School of Interior Design in 2010 and from the San Francisco Academy of Art in 2012. She is a recipient of the 2009 Alpha Award by Alpha Workshops, the 2010 Circle of Excellence Award from IFDA, the 2014 Open House New York Honoree Award, and the 2015 Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation’s Scroll Award. Allen has served as juror for the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards and the Gensler Design Excellence Awards, among others, and is a board member for the Alpha Workshops. Allen is chairman of the national board of DIFFA (Design Industries Foundation Fighting Aids).


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.