August 6, 2018
by: AIA New York
Image courtesy of Times Square Alliance.
Image courtesy of Times Square Alliance.
2016 Valentine Heart Design Competition finalist: Heart of Hearts by Collective-LOK. Image courtesy Collective–LOK
2016 Valentine Heart Design Competition finalist: Heart of Hearts by Collective-LOK. Image courtesy Collective–LOK
AIA New York is proud to announce that it will be partnering with Times Square Arts on this year’s Times Square Valentine Heart Design Competition. Each year, the competition invites New York City-based architects and designers to design an icon that communicates and celebrates love in the heart of this dynamic city. Eight talented firms have been selected to participate:

  • Agency Agency / Tei Carpenter
  • Buro Koray Duman
  • Isometric Studio
  • N H D M / Nahyun Hwang and David Eugin Moon
  • Only If Architecture
  • Splice Design
  • STUDIO 397

This year’s competition invites firms to contemplate how a Valentine sent from the heart of Times Square might embrace various expressions of love, both individual and collective. Can the public art installation generate connections and ignite conversations that articulate our aspirations as individuals, as a city, as a nation, and beyond? How do you illustrate and amplify love in Times Square, where every day, 350,000 pedestrians from New York City, across the country, and around the world cross paths with strangers from all walks of life?

For the first time ever, the proposals for the Valentines Heart Design Competition will be exhibited at the Center for Architecture. At the opening on October 15, from 6 – 8pm, finalists will present on how their proposed installations approach these questions — and the winning entry will be announced! All eight project proposals will remain on display through November 2, 2018, at the Center for Architecture.

Proposals will be reviewed, and the winner selected, by a panel of individuals who represent the worlds of design, public art, and the public sector. Invited panelists include:

  • Barry Bergdoll, Professor and Curator, Columbia University and MoMA
  • Kendal Henry, Director, Percent for Art
  • Jennifer Lantzas, Deputy Director of Public Art, NYC Parks
  • Nadine Maleh, Executive Director, Institute for Public Architecture
  • Cathleen McGuigan, Editor in Chief, Architectural Record
  • Bradley Samuels, Partner, SITU Studio
  • Hayes Slade, AIA, Principal, Slade Architecture; 2019 President, AIA New York
  • Bryan Young, AIA, Principal, Young Projects
  • Tim Tompkins, President, Times Square Alliance
  • Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA, Executive Director, AIA New York | Center for Architecture
  • Andrew Dinwiddie, Acting Director of Public Art, Times Square Alliance


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.