October 26, 2010
by: Murrye Bernard Assoc. AIA LEED AP

Thirty projects by AIA New York Chapter members are on view at the Zodchestvo 2010 Architectural Festival in Moscow. “NEW YORK NOW: The Architecture of Social Responsibility,” includes: the Pike & Allen Street Center Mall by AECOM; Zuccotti Park by Cooper Robertson; Frank Sinatra School of the Arts by Ennead Architects; Flushing Meadows Natatorium & Rink by Handel Architects / Hom & Goldman; St. Agnes Branch Library by Helpern Architects; St. Hilda’s & St. Hugh’s School by Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects; Millstein Family Heart Center by Pei Cobb Freed & Partnerse; HPD Site 8, 1465 & 1473 Fifth Avenue by RKT&B; Boricua Village by Hugo S. Subotovsky; Queens Library & Discovery Center by 1100 Architect; Hunters Point So. Intermediate School by FXFOWLE Architects; 59th Street Recreation Center by Belmont Freeman Architects; Poets House by Louise Braverman Architect; 1070 Anderson Avenue, Bronx, by Magnusson Architects & Planners; Brooklyn Navy Yard Center Bldg. 92 by Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners; East Harlem School at Exodus House by Peter Gluck and Partners, Architects; Museum of the Moving Image by Leeser Architecture; SIMS Municipal Recycling Facility by Selldorf Architects; James B. Hunt Library (Raleigh, NC) by Snøhetta; Lehigh County Courthouse by Ricci Greene Associates; Avalon Morningside by Kliment Halsband Architects; Lincoln Center Theater by H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture; Brooklyn Community Center by Leroy Street Studio; Illustration for Sustainability by Gage/Clemenceau Architects; 9/11 Memorial by Handel Architects; Water Street Study by Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects and Planners; DemocracyNow Studio by Bogdanow Partners Architects; PS-90 Housing Renovation by Curtis + Ginsberg Architects; Yogi Berra Museum & Learning Center by ikon.5 architects; and Stapleton Public Library by Andrew Berman Architect

The New York Society of Architects will hold its annual awards dinner on 11.18.10 and will present the Sidney L. Strauss Award to George Ranalli, AIA; the Distinguished Achievement Award to Raymond Daddazio; and Distinguished Service Awards to Jonathan Marvel, AIA, and Richard Toder & Sol Schwarz….

The Ninth Annual Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) Award winners include: in the category of Lifetime Achievement, William Pedersen, FAIA, the Lynn S. Beedle Award, and Ysrael A. Seinuk, the Faziur Khan Medal; Best Tall Buildings winners include Bank of America Tower by Cook + Fox Architects and Burj Khalifa by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

The 2010 GREEN GOOD DESIGN AWARD winners include: in the category of Research/Technology, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill’s Active Modular Phytoemediation System (AMPS) and CASE: Center for Architecture Science and Ecology; and in the category of Architecture, Centro de Artes Nadir Afonso by Louise Braverman Architect with Paulo Almedia and Artur Afonso; the Royal Bank of Canada Centre by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates with Sweeny Finlayson & Co. Architects and B + H Bergman + Hamann; Massena Land Port of Entry by Smith-Miller + Hawkinson Architects; Vanke Center by Steven Holl Architects with CCDI Architects; Brooklyn Children’s Museum and David L. Lawrence Convention Center by Rafael Viñoly Architects as well as the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Janelia Farm Research Campus, along with Kishimoto Gordon Dalaya; and the Westchester Reform Temple by Rogers Marvel Architects

Canstruction announced the winners of its 14th Annual International Competition, including Ted Moudis Associates‘ “We Get By With a Little Help From Our Friends” for Best Use of Labels…

Hart Howerton announced the addition of Paul Milana, AIA, as a Principal based in its NYC office… Handel Architects has promoted Vivian Lee, AIA, to Director of Interior Architecture… Cannon Design announced that Richard J. Kahn, AIA, LEED AP, has joined the firm as Senior Project Manager and Associate Principal…


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.