October 13, 2010
by: Emily Nemens
10.07.10: More than 1,100 guests gathered at Chelsea Piers to celebrate design excellence at the Heritage Ball. The event, with proceeds benefiting the AIA New York Chapter and the Center for Architecture Foundation’s many initiatives, honored Vicki Match Suna, AIA, Senior Vice President and Vice Dean for Real Estate Development and Facilities at New York University Langone Medical Center (Center for Architecture Award); the Clinton Climate Initiative, a program of the William J. Clinton Foundation (Center for Architecture Foundation Award); 200 West Street Project Team (AIA New York Chapter Award); and Henry N. Cobb, FAIA, Founding Partner of Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architect (Presidents Award).
Cobb accepted his lifetime achievement award with “three brief but memorable remarks,” that Cobb explained “have accompanied and often sustained me throughout the six decades of my professional life.” The third of these was by Claude Lévi-Strauss: “The city is both natural object and a thing to be cultivated; individual and group; something lived and something dreamed; it is the human invention, par excellence.” The 1,135 attendees responded to his remarks, and his achievement, with a standing ovation.


Center for Architecture Foundation President Jean Parker Phifer, FAIA; AIANY President Anthony Schirripa, FAIA; and the four honorees: Arah Schuur (Clinton Climate Initiative); Vicki Match Suna, AIA; Harrry Cobb, FAIA, and Timur Galen (200 West Street).

Sam Lahoz


AIANY and the Center for Architecture Foundation also gave five scholarships on behalf of the honorees: Samuel Mikhail (City College of New York Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture, Institution chosen by the Clinton Climate Initiative: A Program of the William J. Clinton Foundation); Kai Reynolds (Williamsburg High School for Architecture and Design, Institution chosen by Vicki Match Suna, AIA); Karli Molter (The University of Pennsylvania School of Design, Institution chosen by 200 West Street Project Team); Farah Ahmad (City College of New York Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture); and Daphne Binder (The Cooper Union Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture, Institution chosen by Henry N. Cobb, FAIA)

Sam Lahoz


Honoree Henry Cobb, FAIA, is joined by AIA National President and former AIANY president George Miller, FAIA, and NYC City Planning Chair Amanda Burden, Hon. AIA, FAICP.

Sam Lahoz


Many of the attendees travelled back to the Center for Party@theCenter, where they joined hundreds of other revelers for a late-night dance party.

Sam Lahoz


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.