March 6, 2013
by: smecs
(l-r) Carlos Brillembourg, FAIA; Heidi Blau, FAIA; Carol Loewenson, FAIA; Raymond Bordwell, FAIA; Margaret Newman, FAIA; Claire Weisz, FAIA; Terrence O'Neal, FAIA; Susan A. Chin, FAIA; Judith DiMaio, FAIA; Richard Metsky, FAIA; Israel Berger, FAIADaniel Fox
Rick Bell, FAIA, AIANY Executive Director, introduces the program.Daniel Fox
Jill N. Lerner, FAIA, 2013 AIANY PresidentDaniel Fox
Sylvia Smith, FAIA, 2012 Chair, AIANY Fellows CommitteeDaniel Fox

Last Thursday evening we recognized 13 new members of the AIA College of Fellows who belong to the AIA New York Chapter. They are part of a group of 122 new Fellows nationally. The 2013 Fellows are:

Israel Berger, FAIA, Vidaris, Inc.
Raymond Bordwell, FAIA, Avenues World Holdings
Carlos Brillembourg, FAIA, Carlos Brillembourg Architects
Susan A. Chin, FAIA, Wildlife Conservation Society
Judith DiMaio, FAIA, New York Institute of Technology School of Architecture and Design
Kenneth Levien, FAIA, Levien & Company
Carol Loewenson, FAIA, Mitchell | Giurgola Architects, LLP
Richard Metsky, FAIA, Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners LLP
Margaret Newman, FAIA, New York City Department of Transportation
Terrence O’Neal, FAIA, Terrence O’Neal Architect, LLC
Peter Schubert, FAIA, Ennead Architects LLP
Claire Weisz, FAIA, WXY Architecture + Urban Design

During the event, each new Fellow spoke briefly about their driving inspirations and contributions. Sylvia Smith, FAIA, 2012 Chair of the AIANY Fellows Committee, noted in her introduction, “Architecture is a very honorable profession, and the people we are honoring today are singular because they have used vision, intelligence, determination, diplomacy, and humor to accomplish a lot. This honor is in recognition of their distinguished body of work, their ripple effect, and the sharing of their knowledge and expertise.”

The diversity of achievements is amazing, and a précis of each new Fellow’s achievements is on the AIANY website. In the Practice category, these individuals are involved in developing best practices for superb building envelopes, excellence in educational facilities, explicating the contingencies between art and architecture, and adaptive reuse of older buildings. Our Design category Fellows retrieve gems from the past and create new forms for the civic and public realms. Other Fellows developed practices to benefit the non-profit community, and engaged in efforts that promulgated design excellence through zoological exhibition design, educational approach, and governmental advocacy, to name a few.

Carlos Brillembourg, FAIA, ended his remarks with perhaps the most memorable quote of the night, joking that “I’ve never worked so hard just to get an ‘F’.” Brillembourg has contributed much to the practice of architecture, and his “F” is much deserved.

Clients and passion are the driving forces for the work achieved. Sue Chin, FAIA, summed this up in her comments, noting that, “as the Chief Architect for the Wildlife Conservation Society, I have a varied group of clients that go from leaf cutter ants to gorillas to sharks, and, of course, to people. I am fueled by a passion for wildlife and have been inspired by the idea of this unique opportunity to tell stories and educate our visitors about the complex issues that threaten nature.”

The evening wrapped up with a festive reception offering the opportunity to greet and congratulate this exemplary class of Fellows. The official investiture to the College of Fellows will take place at the 2013 AIA National Convention in Denver on the afternoon of
Friday, 06.21.13, at the Ellie Caulkins Opera House.

Suzanne D.H. Mecs, Hon. AIA NYS, is AIANY Director of Member Services.

Event: 2013 AIANY Chapter Fellows Reception
Location: Center for Architecture, 02.28.13
Speakers: New Fellows (as named above)
Moderators: Jill Lerner, FAIA, AIANY 2013 President; Rick Bell, FAIA, AIANY Executive Director; Sylvia Smith, FAIA,
2012 Chair of the AIANY Fellows Committee
Sponsor: LIGHTFAIR International


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.