May 26, 2021
by: AIA New York
Aleli, Bay Ridge. Photo: Maya Bayram.
Aleli, Bay Ridge. Photo: Maya Bayram.

AIA New York is thrilled to announce Design Corps, a restaurant support initiative started by AIA New York, NYCxDESIGN, the NYC Economic Development Corporation, and Design Advocates recently won NYCxDESIGN’s 2021 Design Awards for Outdoor Dining!

Launched in the summer of 2020, Design Corps is a network of volunteers assisting restaurants’ design-related needs that have arisen due to the COVID-19 crisis. Designers who are interested in joining the network can apply online.

Several members of the Design Corps leadership team also received winning and honoree recognition for their work. Michael K. Chen Architecture received Winner recognition for Clinton Hill Brownstone and Honoree recognition for Carnegie Hill Apartment, and Soluri Architecture received Honoree recognition for Mount Pleasant Academy.

We also wish to recognize the achievements of AIA New York members across various NYCxDESIGN Awards categories:

Small Health + Wellness:
Honoree – Columbia Primary Care Manhattan Valley by Gensler

Large Health + Wellness:
Winner – Center for Community Health, New York-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital by Perkins Eastman
Honoree – Physicians Pavilion, Brooklyn Hospital Center by EwingCole
Honoree – Inspir Carnegie Hill by Handel Architects
Honoree – COVID-19 Centers of Excellence, NYC Health+Hospitals/Gotham Health by Perkins Eastman

Outdoor Space
Winner – Edge by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Honoree – Two Blue Slip by Handel Architects, Gachot Studios, and Future Green Studio
Honoree – The Jacx by MdeAS Architects

Greater Good: Social + Environmental Impact
Winner – Greenpoint Library and Environmental Education Center by Marble Fairbanks Architects
Honoree – 1199 SEIU United Healthcare Workers East by Adjaye Associates
Honoree – Theatre Row by Architecture Outfit
Honoree – The Wallace Foundation by Deborah Berke Partners

Club / Lounge
Winner – Ticketed Waiting Room, Moynihan Train Hall by Rockwell Group and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Honoree – Chief by AvroKO
Honoree – Irving Plaza by EwingCole
Honoree – Amtrak Metropolitan Lounge, Moynihan Train Hall by FXCollaborative

Outdoor Dining
Winner – DineOut NYC by Rockwell Group
Winner – Renaissance Pavilion, Strivers’ Row by WXY Architecture + Urban Design, Body Lawson Associates, JPDesign, and Brandt:Haferd Architects

Winner – Essex Market by SHoP Architects
Honoree – Murray’s Cheese Shop & Cheese Bar by Rockwell Group
Honoree – Peak by Rockwell Group

Small Corporate Office
Winner – Confidential Real Estate Investment Firm by Gensler
Honoree – Betterment by MKDA

Large Corporate Office
Winner – Equinox Headquarters by Architecture + Information
Honoree – Mizuho Americas by Ted Moudis Associates

Creative Office
Winner – Roc Nation by Jeffrey Beers International
Honoree – Firm’s Own Studio by Perkins and Will

Tech Office
Winner – Spark Capital by Desai Chia Architecture and Flank Architecture

Commercial Lobby / Amenity Space
Winner – One Vanderbilt Lobby by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Winner – The Jacx by MdeAS Architects
Honoree – 250 Park Avenue Lobby by FXCollaborative
Honoree – 135 W 50th Street by Gensler
Honoree – One Vanderbilt Amenity Space by Gensler

Building Façade
Winner – Lantern House by Heatherwick Studio
Honoree – 75 Kenmare by Andre Kikoski Architect
Honoree – 215-225 W 28th Street by DXA Studio
Honoree – The Dime by Fogarty Finger

Residential Lobby / Amenity Space
Winner – 101 West End by Bromley Caldari Architects
Honoree – Hollingsworth by Fogarty Finger
Honoree – 111 Montgomery by Mesarch Studio and Fischer + Makooi Architects
Honoree – Zeckendorf by SPAN Architecture

Small Multi-Unit Housing
Winner – 98 Front by ODA New York
Honoree – 111 Montgomery by Mesarch Studio and Fischer + Makooi Architects
Honoree – The Bath Haus by Meshberg Group and Perkins Eastman
Honoree – 83 Eagle Street by StudioSC

Large Multi-Unit Housing
Winner – Lantern House by Heatherwick Studio and March and White Design
Honoree – The Dime by Fogarty Finger
Honoree – Skyline Tower by Whitehall Interiors and Hill West Architects

Small Apartment
Honoree – Olympic Tower Residence by GRADE New York
Honoree – Harlem Penthouse by Re-a.d Architecture Design

Large Apartment
Winner – Park Avenue Apartment by Steven Harris Architects and Rees Roberts + Partners
Honoree – Tribeca Apartment by Archi-Tectonics
Honoree – Carnegie Hill Apartment by Michael K. Chen Architecture
Honoree – Greenpoint Apartment by StudioSC

Urban House
Winner – Upper West Side Townhouse by Architecture in Formation

Residential Transformation
Winner – Clinton Hill Brownstone by Michael K. Chen Architecture
Honoree – Dumbo Loft by Megan Grehl and Re-a.d Architecture Design

Kitchen + Bath
Winner – Modern Nostalgia Apartment by Andrew Mikhael Architect
Honoree – Soho Development by DXA Studio

Model Apartment
Winner – 168 Plymouth by RR Interiors and Alloy
Honoree – Penthouse B, 75 Kenmare by Andre Kikoski Architect and Kravitz Design

Small Retail / Showroom
Honoree – Lambert & Fils Flagship by Re-a.d Architecture Design and Lambert & Fils

Large Retail
Winner – David Yurman by Gabellini Sheppard Associates
Honoree – Carnegie Fabrics by ENV Architects

Honoree – 399 Park Avenue by Gensler and Amuneal

Iconic NYC Project
Winner – 1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge by INC Architecture & Design, Marvel, and Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates
Winner – High Line by James Corner Field Operations, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, and Piet Oudolf
Winner – Milbank by LSM
Winner – New York Stock Exchange by Rottet Studio and Studios Architecture

On the Boards: Commercial
Winner – The Great Bridge: Path to Equilibrium by DXA Studio
Honoree – Filter by CLB Architects
Honoree – Atmospheric Veil by Re-a.d Architecture Design
Honoree – Mount Pleasant Christian Academy by Soluri Architecture
Honoree – Jacob K. Javits Convention Center Expansion by WXY Architecture + Urban Design and tvsdesign

On the Boards: Residential
Winner – The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and Jean-Louis Deniot
Honoree – One Essex Crossing by CetraRuddy Architecture
Honoree – Fort Greene Residence by Ramona Albert Architecture
Honoree – Salon de Soleil by SheltonMindel
Honoree – 9 DeKalb by SHoP Architects

NYC’s Shining Moment
Winner – Edge by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates and Rockwell Group
Honoree – Ticketed Waiting Room, Moynihan Train Hall by Rockwell Group and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Honoree – Essex Market by SHoP Architects



Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.