January 17, 2024
by: AIA New York
AIA Fellowship pins
Image credit: Sam Lahoz.

Do you know an AIA architect who has made significant and measurable achievements with ripple effects in design, preservation, management, technical expertise, education, literature, or service?

To be considered for Fellowship, architects must be AIA members in good standing for at least 10 years. Candidates may be recommended by any other AIA member, or they may self-refer. A recommendation note should include the candidate’s contact information (name, firm/school name, telephone number, and email address) and a paragraph describing their area of expertise and one of the six  Objects of Nomination. Individuals recommended will be asked to submit a portfolio to support their broad impact and ripple effect to qualify for candidacy by early April.

AIA fellowship recognizes architects who have made meaningful contributions to the profession and society. Please make a recommendation about who AIA New York should nominate for the 2024/2025 cycle. Recommendations are due by 5:00 pm on February 1, 2024. An application process lecture will be held at the Chapter on Wednesday, February 28, 2024 at the Center for Architecture. In addition, procedures for applying to the College of Fellows are outlined and sample successful submissions are available on the AIA National Fellowship site. Questions specific to AIANY’s policies and procedures can be directed to Suzanne Mecs.

2024 AIANY Fellows Committee members:

Heidi Blau, FAIA, Fellows Committee co-chair, Partner and COO, FXCollaborative
Sharon Sutton, FAIA, Ph.D., Fellows Committee co-chair, Professor, Parsons School of Design
Peter Cavaluzzi, FAIA, Principal and Board Director, Perkins Eastman
Susannah Drake, FAIA, Principal, SASAKI
Stephan Jaklitsch, FAIA, Principal, Jaklitsch/Gardner Architects
Annya Ramirez-Jimenez, AIA, Director, Marvel
Magali Regis, AIA, Principal, e_space design
Margaret Rietveld, FAIA, Firm Owner/Architect, Rietveld Architects


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.