April 20, 2022
by Sadie Wegner
Large crowd at an exhibition opening.
Art by Architects 2022. Photo: Sadie Wegner.
Large crowd at an exhibition opening.
Art by Architects 2022. Photo: Center for Architecture.
Man looks at paintings propped on a table.
Art by Architects at the Center for Architecture. Photo: Center for Architecture.
Five individuals, one holding a microphone, lined up inside a room with a painting behind them.
Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA, Executive Director, AIANY | Center for Architecture, gives opening remarks at Art by Architects. Photo: Sadie Wegner.

On Friday, April 1, the Center for Architecture hosted the fourth-annual Art by Architects exhibition, featuring 60 artworks by 40 New York City-based architects. The program, which was founded in 2016, highlights the creative explorations of architects, which oftentimes remain hidden behind closed doors. Since its launch, Art by Architects has displayed work by more than 100 design professionals at all levels, ranging from junior designers to founding partners and professors to students. This year’s exhibition included paintings, drawings, small- and large-scale sculptures, graphic design, and photography.

Art by Architects also serves as a fundraiser, having raised funds in support of AIANY’s Scholarship Fund, nycoba | NOMA. This year, the exhibition raised $7,500 towards humanitarian efforts in Ukraine supported by the American Red Cross.

Thank you to the artists and the entire Art by Architects Committee (Hank Abernathy, Sadie Wegner, Steve Gifford, Frank Moya, Jeff C. Pierre) for making this year’s show a success. A special thanks to Ennead Architects for their generous donation.

Follow Art by Architects on Instagram for more information!

Exhibiting Artists:
Hank Abernathy
John Amatruda
Jeannette Andasamasaris
Christian Bailey
Anna Marie Barnowski
Jaime Bautista
Joyce Billet
David Briggs
Nick Brinen
Konrad Brzykcy
Dale Cohen
Roland DeFries
Robert Fraguada
Steve Gifford
Munjer Hashim
Laura Heim
Seth Howe
Aamena Ismail
Noushin Jafari
Nishan Kazazian
Yalda Keramati
Ken R. Lau
Eric Li
Jazzy Li
Joe Lobdell
Jacqueline Love
Frank Michielli
Carolina Moscoso
Frank Moya
Seema Pandya
Anik Pearson
Sam Picardal
Surambika Pradhan
Mary Elizabeth Rusz
Jennifer Sgro
Kara Shypula
Jonathan Sinagub
Liz Swanson
Arnold Syrop
Asuncion Tapia
Eduardo Terranova
Andrew Tesoro
Sadie Wagner
Kira Wong
Jordan Wyatt
Michael Wyetzner

Art by Architects Committee
Hank Abernathy
Sadie Wegner
Steve Gifford
Frank Moya
Jeff C. Pierre


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.