June 29, 2022

On Tuesday, June 21, 2022, AIA New York hosted its 155th Annual Meeting, where members elected 2023 leadership and celebrated recent chapter achievements and award recipients. The evening marked the first annual meeting held in-person at the Center for Architecture since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic and, after two years of virtual meetings, members were once again able to gather face to face to celebrate each others’ achievements and catch up on the state of their work and the industry at large.

After presenting on the state of the chapter, from program initiatives and advocacy to its financial health and membership, 2022 President Andrea Lamberti, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, turned over the podium to AIANY Board Secretary Scott Briggs, AIA, who presented the work of the Nominating Committee in creating the 2022 slate. Present AIANY members confirmed the committee’s slate without delay.

The Annual Meeting also served as a significant opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions. Congratulations to the following award recipients:

  • Service to the Institute Award (Harry B. Rutkins Award): Vivian Lee, FAIA, New York Studio Executive Director, Woods Bagot; Co-Chair, AIANY Women in Architecture Committee
  • Public Architect Award: Mark Chambers, Senior Director for Building Emissions and Community Resilience, White House Council on Environmental Quality
  • Leadership in Housing Award (Andrew J. Thomas Award): Mutual Housing Association of New York Management Inc. (MHANY Management)
  • Service to the City Award (George S. Lewis Award): Transportation Alternatives
  • Special Citations:
    • Erica Ford, Founder, Life Camp, Inc.
    • Kavitha Mathew, AIA, Global Diversity Officer, KPF; Founder and President, Equity Co:LAB; Special Projects Director, AIANY
    • Quardean Lewis-Allen, Executive Director, Youth Design Center
    • SITU Research, accepted by Brad Samuels, Founding Partner, SITU Studio

We congratulate incoming board and committee members and look forward to celebrating with you at the 2022 Inaugural!


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.