In 2017, AIA New York and the Center for Architecture worked with LaPlaca Cohen to identify strategic goals, objectives, and tactics to ensure the success and growth of the two organizations over the next five years. LaPlaca Cohen collaborated with an internal Steering Committee comprised of leadership and senior staff members from both organizations to formulate a Strategic Framework.

Strategic Framework PDF

Elected by the Chapter membership and its Nominating Committee each year, the Board of Directors is a diverse group of practitioners and allied professionals that brings a wealth of experience to the functioning of the Chapter. The Board meets monthly, with supplemental meetings and event commitments dependent on the position to which an individual is elected.

The AIA New York Chapter membership gathers at the Annual Meeting each June to elect the Board of Directors and members to selected committees, as well as to conduct chapter business and honor those who contribute to the built environment of New York. The next Annual Meeting will be held on June 14, 2023.

Current Bylaws PDF

Nominating Committee

AIA New York’s Nominating Committee accepts recommendations and self-referrals for the Elective Committees for terms starting the following year. The Nominating Committee is itself an elected body that submits the elective slate to the Board of Directors and to membership for vote at the Annual Meeting. The committee includes five members: four are elected by the chapter members; the fifth is the Immediate Past President.

Nominating Committee Members

Kenneth Lewis, AIA (Chair)

Michael Caton, AIA, LEED AP BD+C

Everardo Jefferson, AIA

Shilpa Patel, AIA

Lissa So, AIA

Nominating Committee Elections

An open meeting to put candidates on the Nominating Committee ballot is called annually in the fall. All Architect, Associate, International Associate, and Emeritus members of the Chapter are welcome. If you would like to submit a name but cannot make it to the meeting, please email with the name of the candidate. 

Once all submitted names are vetted, an online election will open for two weeks time for members to select their top four choices. 

The four elected members will serve with the AIANY President from January to June each year to select members for the following year's Board and Elective Committees. 

Elective Committees

AIA New York’s Nominating Committee accepts recommendations and self-referrals for the following Elective Committees for terms starting the following year.

Design Awards Committee The committee, working with the Chapter Board of Directors and chapter staff, organizes the annual Design Awards Program. Current committee members:

Dennis P. George, George Architect PLLC

Elliot Glassman, AIA, NCARB, LEED BD+C, CPHD, WSP

Barry Richards, Assoc. AIA, Rockwell Group

Hayes Slade, AIA, Slade Architecture

Gregory Switzer, AIA, NOMA, NCARB, SWITZER Architecture

Joseph G. Tattoni, FAIA, ikon.5 architects

Natalia Valencia Donat, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP BD+C, NYC Architecture Biennial

Fellows Committee Consisting of six elected members of the Chapter, this committee follows applicable AIA procedures regarding eligibility and nomination procedures for advancement of a member to Fellowship, and follows an appropriate method of communicating such information to all Chapter members. Current committee members:

John Cetra, FAIA, CetraRuddy

Robert Eisenstat, FAIA, Port Authority of New York & New Jersey

Joann Gonchar, FAIA, Architectural Record

Laura Heim, FAIA, Laura Heim Architect

Margaret Rietveld, FAIA, Rietveld Architects

Fernando Villa, FAIA, Magnusson Architecture and Planning

Honors Committee This committee selects nominees for Chapter awards; AIA New York State Honors; Institute Honors and Awards and provides support for submissions. Current committee members:

Mark Gardner, AIA, Jaklitsch / Gardner Architects

Yasemin Kologlu, Intl Assoc. AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Henry Myerberg, FAIA, HMA2 Architects

Annya Ramírez-Jiménez, AIA, Marvel

Susan T. Rodriguez, FAIA, Susan T. Rodriguez Architecture • Design

Claire Weisz, FAIA, WXY Architecture + Urban Design

Oculus Committee This committee meets monthly with the staff of Oculus to advise, direct, and set policy and editorial content for the Chapter's publications. Current committee members:

Lisa Green (Chair)

Jennifer Krichels (Editor in Chief)

Alicia Ajayi

Lee Altman, AIA

Andrew Bernheimer, FAIA

Matthew Bremer, AIA

Susan Chin, FAIA

Julia Gamolina, Assoc. AIA

Elisa Holland, Assoc. AIA

June Williamson, Assoc. AIA

Joint Committees

AIA New York’s Joint Committees accepts recommendations and self-referrals for the following Elective Committees for terms starting the following year.

Finance Committee The committee assists the President and Treasurer in preparing an annual budget; arranges for audits of the books of this Chapter and reports to the Board of Directors the results of such audits; examines, at the direction of the Board of Directors or the Treasurer, the accounts of this Chapter; supervises the investments, trust funds and endowments of this Chapter; and recommends to the Board of Directors appropriate action to be taken thereon. Current committee members:

Ellen Abraham, Assoc. AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Alexander Lamis, FAIA, Alex Lamis Architect

Kenneth Levien, FAIA, KDL Projects

Molly McGowan, AIA, Ennead Architects

Julia Murphy, AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Beverly Prior, FAIA, AECOM

Peter Robinson, Parsons School of Constructed Environments; Cornell University

Jennifer Sage, FAIA, Sage and Coombe Architects

LeAnn Shelton, Esq., AIA, Rockwell Group

Scholarship Committee The Joint Scholarship committee acts on behalf of AIA New York and Center for Architecture, as jury and supervisors of the restricted grants and scholarship funds including the Stewardson Keefe LeBrun Travel Grant; Arnold W. Brunner Grant; the Eleanor Allwork Scholarship Grant Program and The Douglas Haskell Award for Student Journalism. Current committee members:

Andrea Lamberti, AIA, Rafael Viñoly Architects (Co-chair)

Jennifer Sage, FAIA, Sage and Coombe Architects (Co-chair)

Alison Brooke Tomlinson, Gensler

Koray Duman, AIA, LEED, Buro Koray Duman

Nina Cooke John, AIA, NOMA, NCARB, Studio Cooke John

Hilary M. Sample, FAIA, MOS Architects, Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation

Dr. Sharon E. Sutton, FAIA, Parsons School of Design


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.