An American Institute of Architects (AIA) membership connects you to 90,000 professionals across the nation who share your passion for architecture. Depending on your membership type, you'll enjoy benefits at the national, state, and local level.

Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Our members form a vibrant community of more than 5,500 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and enthusiasts that are striving to transform architecture and design.

As a member, you'll gain access to unparalleled benefits, products, and services that support practice and professional development. Find out which membership type is right for you.

View Membership Dues

AIA New York members at the Center for Architecture.
AIA New York members at the Center for Architecture.

National Membership Categories

Join one of these national categories online today by visiting

Architect Membership (AIA)

Individuals with an architectural license from a U.S. licensing authority are eligible for Architect membership. let your clients, peers and employers know about your commitment to the profession and a code of ethics with the official AIA designation.

Associate Membership (Assoc. AIA)

Associate membership is open to individuals who have a professional degree in architecture from an NAAB accredited school, work under the supervision of an architect, are enrolled in AXP, or are a faculty member in a university program in architecture.

Associate New Graduate Membership (Assoc. AIA)

Individuals who have graduated with a professional degree in architecture from an accredited school between 2018 and 2020 are eligible for up to 18 months free membership upon graduation. You must have recently graduated with a NAAB-accredited Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctorate professional degree in architecture within the past 18 months.

International Associate Membership (Int.l Assoc. AIA)

Individuals who have an architecture license or equivalent from a non-US licensing authority are eligible for International Associate membership.

Fellow Membership (FAIA)

The distinction of Fellow is reserved for registered architect members of over 10 years who the National AIA Jury of Fellows has honored for contributing notably to the advancement of the profession of architecture.

Emeritus Membership (AIA, Assoc. AIA, or FAIA)

Emeritus applies to individuals who have been AIA members for 15 successive years and either (i) have attained the age of 70 and are retired from the profession of architecture (or from a related occupation, in the case of Associate members) or (ii) are so incapacitated as to be unable to work in the profession. 

Local Membership Categories

Find out which AIA New York membership category is right for you.

Allied Membership

An AIA New York Allied Membership offers individuals working in an allied profession such as construction, engineering, historic preservation, interior design, landscape design, law, product design/manufacturing, etc. the opportunity to become local affiliates. This membership is also open to architecture and design enthusiasts interested in joining the AIA New York community.

Student Membership

Student Membership offers those who are currently a student of any accredited institution the opportunity to become local affiliates. AIAS members of Accredited Architecture Schools in New York State are granted complimentary membership to AIA New York.

Corresponding Membership

Corresponding Membership offers AIA Members in other chapters the opportunity to be affiliated with AIA New York as well.

Corporate Membership

Corporate Allied Membership offers firms and organizations in industries related to architecture the opportunity to become local affiliates. The membership levels are Steel and Titanium. Depending on the level, 5 or 10 individuals in the firm are named to receive the benefits as Center for Architecture Professional Members. 


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.