Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
August 23, 2017
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

AIA New York State’s annual Design Awards winners included NYC-based St. Ann’s Warehouse by Marvel Architects; the National September 11 Memorial Museum by Davis Brody Bond; Bergdorf Goodman by MNA; Dior Seoul, Southampton House, and Hublot Fifth Avenue by Peter Marino Architect; the Novartis Oncology Building and Kent State Center for Architecture and Environmental Design by WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; Baccarat Hotel & Residences, FBI Biometric Technology Center, and the Center for Character and Leadership Development by Skidmore, Owings & Merril; Cummins Indy Distribution Headquarters by Deborah Berke Partners; the Arizona State University Beus Center for Law and Society and Vassar College Bridge for Laboratory Sciences by Ennead Architects; Perry World House by 1100 Architect; Duke West Union District Bridge/Pavilion by Architecture Operations D.P.C; Josai i-House Dormitory by Studio SUMO; the Ogden Centre for Fundamental Physics by Studio Libeskind; VIA 57 West by BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group; Michigan Lake House by Desai Chia Architecture; Bar House by Audrey Matlock Architect; De Maria Pavilion by Gluckman Tang; Maker Park by STUDIO V Architecture; and Southwest Brooklyn plan by AECOM.

Marion Weiss, FAIA, Founding Partner of WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism, will be honored as a Design Leader at Architectural Record‘s 2017 Women in Architecture Awards on 10.25.17.

Ambar Margarida, CID, IIDA, LEED AP, has been promoted to Principal at Spacesmith. William Wong, AIA, LEED AP; Drew Miller, Assoc. AIA; and Alexandra Koretski have been elevated to Associates.

David Dunlap, reporter of the Building Blocks column at The New York Times, has retired after 42 years.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.