March 6, 2007
by: Murrye Bernard Assoc. AIA LEED AP

The AIA New York Chapter released its list of 2007 Design Award recipients; 31 winners were selected from over 400 submissions. To see the full list of winners, click the link. Honor Awards were announced in the previous issue of e-OCULUS. Architecture Merit Award winners include: Peter L. Gluck and Partners (Affordable Housing); Steven Holl Architects (School of Art and Art History, University of Iowa); noroof architects (Slot House); and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (U.S. Census Bureau Headquarters).

Interior Architecture Merit Award Winners include: STUDIOS Architecture (Bloomberg LP Expansion Floors 17-20); Christoff:Finio Architecture (The Heckscher Foundation for Children); and Asymptote: Hani Rashid and Lise Anne Couture (Alessi Flagship Store New York).

Project Merit Award Winners include: Cooper Robertson & Partners (Zuccotti Park); Thomas Phifer and Partners, Office for Visual Interaction, Werner Sobek Ingenieure (City Lights); Caples Jefferson Architects (Weeksville Heritage Center); Robert Siegel Architects (United States Land Port of Entry, Calais, Maine); Smith-Miller + Hawkinson Architects (405 West 53rd Street); Ogawa/ Depardon Architects (Red Hook Workspace); CR Studio (Pier 62 Carousel Shed); Lyn Rice Architects (Sheila C. Johnson Design Center); Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (Park Fifth); Rogers Marvel Architects (55 Water Street Plaza, The Elevated Acre, and Battery Park City Streetscapes); and Frederic Schwartz Architects (New Orleans Shotgun LOFT Affordable Housing)…

The 2007 AIA Jury of Fellows elevated 76 members to the AIA College of Fellows, including New York based architects: Mustafa Kemal Abadan, FAIA; Roger Duffy, FAIA; Frank J. Greene, FAIA; Paul Katz, FAIA; Blake Middleton, FAIA; Margaret Rietveld, FAIA; Henry Stolzman, FAIA; Calvin Tsao, FAIA; and Adam Yarinsky, FAIA

Winners of the 2006-2007 BOMA/NY Pinnacle Awards include: The Lincoln Building (Historical Building); Ted Weiss Federal Office Building (Government Building and Earth Award); and Hearst Headquarters (New Construction)…

Ted Moudis Associates received the IFMA award for Excellence in Design/Construction of a New Facility for their office space at 79 Madison Avenue… School of Visual Arts appointed Jane Smith, AIA, founder and managing principal of Spacesmith, as the chair of the BFA Interior Design Department… Gensler recently announced the promotion of 21 new Principals of the firm, four of whom are New York-based: Lance Boge, Rocco Giannetti, AIA, Thomas Lanzelotti, AIA, and Keith Rosen, AIA, IIDA


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.