The annual Ratensky Lecture was initiated by AIANY’s Housing Committee in honor of Samuel Ratensky (1910-1972), an architect and housing official who was responsible for major housing initiatives in the city from 1946 to 1972, and who served as a mentor to the many architects who worked in his programs. The lecture series honors individuals who, like Sam Ratensky, have made significant lifetime contributions to the advancement of housing and community design.

Past Recipients:

2017: Herbert Oppenheimer
2016: Roseanne Haggerty
2015: Carmi Bee
2014: Alan Mallach
2013: Carleton Brown
2011: Jerilyn Perine
2010: Richard Ravitch
2009: Joan Goody (David Dixon)
2008: Jonathan Rose
2007: Conrad Levenson
2005: Theodore Liebman
2004: William Conklin
2003: Michael Pyatok
2001: Clara Fox
2000: Edward Logue
1998: Lewis Davis