Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.

Upcoming Events


  • June 4, 2018

    Stable, well-designed housing provides the foundation for a fulfilling life. Dignified, affordable homes near resources and infrastructure like jobs, schools, and transit allow families and communities to thrive. Housing not only can transform residents’ lives, but also forms the building blocks for vibrant, diverse neighborhoods. Housing makes up the majority of the built environment; each development contributes to the unique character of its neighborhood and block. Superbly designed residential developments can be lasting, place-based interventions that foster greater equity, sustainability, resiliency, and healthy living.

    Designing New York: Quality Affordable Housing coincides with increasing recognition of the role design plays in meeting the City’s most pressing goals. This initiative is a collaboration of the New York City Public Design Commission (PDC), The Fine Arts Federation of New York (FAFNY), and the American Institute of Architects New York Chapter (AIANY). A larger publication working group includes the Department of City Planning (DCP), Housing Preservation and Development (HPD), the Department of Design and Construction (DDC), and the Economic Development Corporation (EDC). These public agencies and nonprofit organizations, representing a cross-section of the city’s architecture, design, housing, and planning professions, have come together to advance this important opportunity to create higher quality housing and a more equitable New York.

  • November 10, 2017

    The annual Ratensky Lecture was initiated by AIANY’s Housing Committee in honor of Samuel Ratensky (1910-1972), an architect and housing official who was responsible for major housing initiatives in the city from 1946 to 1972, and who served as a mentor to the many architects who worked in his programs. The lecture series honors individuals who, like Sam Ratensky, have made significant lifetime contributions to the advancement of housing and community design.

    Past Recipients:

    2017: Herbert Oppenheimer
    2016: Roseanne Haggerty
    2015: Carmi Bee
    2014: Alan Mallach
    2013: Carleton Brown
    2011: Jerilyn Perine
    2010: Richard Ravitch
    2009: Joan Goody (David Dixon)
    2008: Jonathan Rose
    2007: Conrad Levenson
    2005: Theodore Liebman
    2004: William Conklin
    2003: Michael Pyatok
    2001: Clara Fox
    2000: Edward Logue
    1998: Lewis Davis


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.