Announcing the 2019 AIANY + ASLA-NY Transportation + Infrastructure Design Excellence Awards

November 4, 2019

NEW YORK CITY, November 4, 2019 – AIA New York and ASLA-NY are proud to announce the winners of the 2019 AIANY + ASLA-NY Transportation + Infrastructure Design Excellence Awards. Eight projects were selected by an independent jury of architects, designers, critics, and planners.

The selected projects represent exceptional transportation and infrastructure work designed by AIA and ASLA members in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania. Each project was evaluated based on their commitment to sustainability, community engagement, and civic architecture.

Architects and landscape architects submitted entries in five categories: Open Space, Planning, Projects, Structures, and Student Work; awards were conferred for all categories except Planning. Entries within those categories were eligible for recognition as Honors (the highest level of achievement), Merits (distinguished achievement), or Citations (exemplary achievement on specific project aspects). Of the 36 completed submissions, jurors selected Second Avenue Subway by AECOM-Arup Joint Venture as the Best in Competition. 4 of the 8 winning projects, including the Best in Competition, are located in New York City.

Award recipients were announced and celebrated at a public Winners’ Event at the Center for Architecture on Monday, October 28.


Claire Fellman, Senior Associate, Reed Hilderbrand
Rob Lane, Senior Fellow for Urban Design, Regional Plan Association
Eve Michel, AIA, Chief Architect, Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Margaret Newman, FAIA, LEED AP, Principal, Arup
James Russell, FAIA, Journalist



Second Avenue Subway Stations
Project Team: AECOM/Arup Joint Venture (AAJV)
Collaborating Architect: Benjamin Thompson Associates
Location: New York, NY



Pier 35
Architect: SHoP Architects
Landscape Architect: Ken Smith Workshop
Location: New York, NY

Mulberry Commons Park
Project Lead: Sage and Coombe Architects
Landscape Architect: Supermass Studio
Location: Newark, NJ



The Water Alert and Testing Resource (WALTER)
Architect: Ennead Lab / Ennead Architects
Location: New York, NY

HUB 404
Architect: Rogers Partners
Landscape Architect: Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architectes
Local Landscape Architect and Planner: Perez Planning + Design
Location: Atlanta, GA

Architect: BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
Location: Brooklyn, NY



Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Subway Station
Architect: Grimshaw
Architect of Record: Adamson Associates Architects
Landscape Architect: The MBTW Group
Public Artwork: Paul Raff Studio
Location: Toronto, Canada



The Learning Track
Student: Krista Wiryomartono, Columbia University Master of Architecture, 2021
Location: Newburgh, NY

About AIA New York
AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects with more than 5,500 architect, allied professional, student, and public members. AIANY is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach and professional development.

ASLA-NY is the New York Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects, the national professional association representing landscape architects. ASLA-NY was founded in 1914 (the second chapter of the national organization) to advocate for and serve members studying and practicing landscape architecture in the New York Metropolitan-Long Island region. The territory of the Chapter encompasses the five boroughs of New York City, Nassau and Suffolk counties on Long Island, and Westchester, Putnam, Dutchess, Orange and Rockland counties. The Chapter is comprised of over 500 members who engage in public, private and academic practices that participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning and artful design of our cultural and natural environments. New York State has two chapters; New York Upstate represents the communities north of Westchester.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.