AIA New York Elects 2020 Leadership at the 152nd Annual Meeting

June 20, 2019

New York City, June 20, 2019 – On Tuesday, June 19, 2019, AIA New York hosted its 152nd Annual Meeting, where members elected 2020 leadership, made amendments to the chapter’s bylaws, and celebrated the achievements of 209 and of their award recipients.


After presenting on the state of the Chapter, from program initiatives and advocacy to its financial health and membership, and celebrating newly-licensed members, 2019 President Hayes Slade, AIA, turned over the podium to AIANY Board Secretary Faith Rose, AIA, who presented the work of the nominating committee in creating the 2020 slate and reviewing AIANY’s bylaws to better serve the membership. Present members voted in favor of the amendments and confirmed the committee’s slate, which is available below.


The Annual Meeting also served as an opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions.

Honorary Member: Anne Rieselbach, Hon. AIANY, Program Director, Architectural League of New York
George S. Lewis Award: Candace Damon, Vice Chairman, HR&A Advisors
Public Architect Award: John Lee, RA, LEED AP, Deputy Director, NYC Mayor’s Office of Sustainability
Harry B. Rutkins Award: Steven Zirinsky, AIA, NCARB, Co-chair, AIANY Building Codes Committee
Andrew J. Thomas Housing Award: Supportive Housing Network of New York
Special Citation: Julia Gamolina, Assoc. AIA, Founder, Madame Architect

2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS (*Elected at Annual Meeting)

*Kim Yao, AIA, Architecture Research Office

*Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
First Vice President / President-Elect

Daniel Wood, FAIA, WORK Architecture Company
Vice President for Design Excellence

Andrea Lamberti, AIA, NCARB, Rafael Viñoly Architects
Vice President for Professional Development

Matthew Bremer, AIA, Architecture in Formation
Vice President for Public Outreach

*Scott Briggs, AIA, Lee H. Skolnick Architecture & Design Partner

*Katherine Chia, FAIA, Desai Chia Architecture

Karen Fairbanks, AIA, Marble Fairbanks

*Rocco Giannetti, FAIA, LEED AP ID+C, NCARB, Gensler

Hannah Kassem, AIA, LEED AP, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates


Pascale Sablan, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP, S9Architecture

*Gregory Switzer, AIA, NCARB, G. Switzer Architecture

*Richard Yancey, FAIA, LEED AP, Building Energy Exchange

Ayodele Yusuf, Assoc. AIA, Perkins Eastman
Director, Associate Member Affairs

*Emily Abruzzo, Yale University
Public Director 

*Fiona Cousins, PE, Arup
Public Director

Claudia Herasme, NYC Department of City Planning
Public Director 

Marc Heiman, Richter+Ratner
Public Director

Andrea Monfried, Andrea Monfried Editions
Public Director, Oculus Advisor

Regina Myer, Downtown Brooklyn Partnership
Public Director

*Luis Munoz, Princeton University
Student Director

*Hayes Slade, AIA, Slade Architecture Immediate Past President

Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA
Executive Director

2020 ELECTIVE COMMITTEE SLATE (*Elected at Annual Meeting)

Design Awards Committee:
*Illya Azaroff, AIA, +LAB Architect
*Mark Gardner, AIA, Jaklitsch/Gardner Architects
*Stefan Knust, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Ennead Architects
*C. Jane Smith, FAIA, IIDA, Spacesmith

Fellows Committee:
Ann Marie Baranowski, FAIA
, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
*John Cetra, FAIA, CetraRuddy
*Robert Eisenstat, FAIA, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Lisa Gould, FAIA, Lisa Gould Architect
Frances Huppert, FAIA, Frances Huppert Architect
Jeffrey Murphy, FAIA, LEED AP, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick

Joint Finance Committee:
*Denise Berger, FAIA, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Kate Dundes Shattan, AIA, Gustavson/Dundes Architecture & Design
Glen Erikson, AIA, Time Equities
*Alex Lamis, FAIA, Robert A.M. Stern Architects
Tim Milam, AIA, FXCollaborative
Christopher Reynolds, AIA, AvalonBay Communities

Honors Committee:
*Andrew Bernheimer, FAIA, Bernheimer Architecture
Louise Braverman, FAIA, Louise Braverman Architect
David Burney, FAIA, Pratt Institute
*Richard Dattner, FAIA, Dattner Architects
*Alexander Gorlin, FAIA, Alexander Gorlin Architects
Astrid Lipka, AIA, Rice+Lipka Architects

Oculus Committee:
Alan Brake, Assoc. AIA, Deborah Berke Partners
Lori Brown, AIA, Syracuse University
Julia Chapman, AIA, Ennead Architects
*James Russell, FAIA
*Irina Verona, FAIA, Verona Carpenter Architects

About AIA New York
Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter’s members include 5,700 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.