Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.

AIA New York Elects 2019 Leadership at the 151st Annual Meeting

June 13, 2018

New York City, June 13, 2018 – On Tuesday, June 12, 2018, AIA New York hosted its 151st Annual Meeting, where members elected 2019 leadership, made amendments to the chapter’s bylaws, and celebrated the achievements of 2018. The evening also served as an opportunity to welcome incoming Center for Architecture President Barry Bergdoll.


After presenting on the state of the chapter, from program initiatives and advocacy to its financial health and membership, 2018 President Gerard F.X. Geier, II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, turned over the podium to AIANY Board Secretary Faith Rose, AIA, who presented the work of the nominating committee in creating the 2019 slate and reviewing AIANY’s bylaws to better serve the membership. Present members voted in favor of the amendments and confirmed the committee’s slate, which is available below.

Following the election of the 2019 board and elective committees, 2014-2017 Center for Architecture President Tom Krizmanic, AIA, reviewed the organization’s 2018 achievements before introducing incoming Center President Barry Bergdoll. Bergdoll, the Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and a renowned scholar and curator, has served on the Center for Architecture’s board for the past four years. He will assume his duties on July 1, 2018

“I am very honored to serve as the next President of New York’s Center for Architecture, a vital and essential place where the design professions and the general public from school children to New York citizens to tourists meet one another to learn and exchange views and ideas,” said Bergdoll. “With its transparent facade offering views deep into its inner workings, the Center for Architecture is a place where design and the public good meet…But most importantly it is committed to crafting a built environment that is resilient in the face of the enormous challenges before us, from climate change, to dramatic social and economic equality, to the fragility of the public sector and the threats continuously posed to civic discourse.  Architecture has a stake in all these issues.”


The Annual Meeting also served as an opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions.

Honorary Member: Gregory Wessner, Executive Director, Open House New York
George S. Lewis Award: Signe Nielsen, Hon. AIANY,
FASLA, Principal, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects
Public Architect Award: Risa Honig, AIA, Vice President, Capital Planning & Construction, New York Public Library
Harry B. Rutkins Award: Ron Younkins, Chief of Operations, NYS Office of Court Administration
Andrew J. Thomas Housing Award: Bowery Residence Committee (BRC)
Special Citation: Eva Franch i Gilabert, incoming Director, Architectural Association, former Chief Curator and Executive Director, Storefront for Art and Architecture


Hayes Slade, AIA, Slade Architecture

Kim Yao, AIA, Architecture Research Office
First Vice President / President-Elect

Daniel Wood, FAIA, WORK Architecture Company
Vice President for Design Excellence

Andrea Lamberti, AIA, NCARB, Rafael Viñoly Architects
Vice President for Professional Development

Matthew Bremer, AIA, Architecture in Formation
Vice President for Public Outreach

Faith Rose, AIA, O’Neill Rose Architects

Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

Scott Briggs, AIA, Lee H. Skolnick Architecture & Design Partner

 Karen Fairbanks, AIA, Marble Fairbanks

Dina Frank, AIA, IIDA, Mancini Duffy

Eric Goshow, AIA, LEED AP, Goshow Architects
Director for Legislative Affairs

Laurie D. Kerr, FAIA, LEED AP, LK Policy Lab

Heidi Kippenhan, AIA, I-Grace

Pascale Sablan, AIA, S9Architecture

Ayodele Yusuf, Assoc. AIA, Perkins Eastman
Director, Associate Member Affairs

Paul A. Bello, PE, AKF Group
Public Director

Maxine Griffith, AICP, Columbia University Office of Public Affairs
Public Director

Marc Heiman, Richter+Ratner
Public Director

Andrea Monfried, The Images Publishing Group
Public Director, Oculus Advisor

Regina Myer, Downtown Brooklyn Partnership
Public Director

Monica Ponce de Leon, AIA, Princeton University
Public Director

Elaine Gamolo, AIAS, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Student Director

Gerard F.X. Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, FXCollaborative
Immediate Past President

Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA
Executive Director 


Design Awards Committee:
Lance Jay Brown, FAIA, Lance Jay Brown Architecture/Urban Design
Frances Halsband, FAIA, Kliment Halsband Architects
Everardo Jefferson, AIA, Caples Jefferson Architects
Elaine Molinar, AIA, Snøhetta

Fellows Committee:
Terrence O’Neal, FAIA
, Terrence O’Neal Architect
Nicole Dosso, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Frances Huppert, FAIA
Jeffrey Murphy, FAIA, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects
Ann Marie Baranowski, FAIA, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Lisa Gould, FAIA, Lisa Gould Architect

Joint Finance Committee:
Katherine Chia, FAIA, Desai Chia Architecture
Kenneth Ricci, FAIA, Ricci Greene Associates
Kate Dundes Shattan, AIA, Gustavson/Dundes Architecture & Design
Christopher Reynolds, AIA, AvalonBay Communities
Glen Erikson, AIA, Time Equities
Tim Milam, AIA, FXCollaborative

Honors Committee:
Christopher Cooper, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Elizabeth Leber, AIA, Beyer Blinder Belle
Robert Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners
Louise Braverman, FAIA, Louise Braverman Architect
David Burney, FAIA, Pratt Institute
Astrid Lipka, AIA, Rice+Lipka Architects

Oculus Committee:
Jacob Reidel, AIA, Ennead Architects
Jessica Sheridan, AIA, Mancini Duffy
Stephen Yablon, AIA, Stephen Yablon Architecture
Alan Brake, Assoc. AIA, Deborah Berke Partners
Julia Chapman, AIA, Ennead Architects
Lori Brown, AIA, Syracuse University

About AIA New York
Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter’s members include 5,500 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.