June 22, 2010
by Emily Nemens

Event: 143rd Annual Meeting of the American Institute of Architects New York Chapter
Location: Center for Architecture, 06.16.10
Speakers: Rick Bell, FAIA — Executive Director, AIANY; Anthony Schirripa, FAIA, IIDA — 2010 President, AIANY; Clark Manus, FAIA — President-elect, AIA; Margaret Castillo, AIA, LEED AP — President-elect, AIANY; Umberto Dindo, AIA — Secretary, AIANY; Ken Ricci, FAIA — Treasurer, AIANY; David Childs, FAIA
Organizers: AIA New York Chapter


Joseph Aliotta, AIA, 2012 AIANY President, Anthony Schirripa, FAIA, 2010 AIANY President, and Margaret Castillo, AIA, 2011 AIANY President.

Sam Lahoz

Every so often, the long history of the AIA New York Chapter echoes through the white halls of the Center for Architecture. The Annual Meeting, in its 143rd iteration, is one such long-standing tradition, and on 06.16.10, the Chapter gathered to review the year-in-progress, conduct business, and celebrate members of the community.

A vote on a bylaws amendment changed the structure of the Design Awards committee. The 2011 AIANY Board was approved, making Joe Aliotta, AIA, the Chapter’s 2011 President-elect, to serve as president after Margaret Castillo, AIA, LEED AP, in 2012. Beyond that, the meeting was an opportunity for AIANY President Tony Schirripa, FAIA, IIDA, and other members of the board to update the Chapter on programs, finances, upcoming events, and long-range plans. The vice presidents gave three special Citations, and then the Honors Committee presented their seven annual awards and honorary memberships. Read about all the awards and citations here.

Beyond business, the meeting was a chance to celebrate with friends. The room was full of Chapter members, friends, and family. There were New Yorkers that had made a difference in the built environment over the years and eager associates who will change the city in the decades to come. Clark Manus, FAIA, the president-elect of AIA National, flew in from San Francisco. The president of the Union of Architects of Russia, Andrey Bokov; and Ross Clark, COO of the Australian Institute of Architects, attended from overseas. Such a diverse crowd reminded attendees that the Chapter’s sphere of influence — and that of its members — is much wider than the borough of Manhattan.

The evening closed with the Medal of Honor, conferred on David Childs, FAIA. Upon accepting the award, Childs thanked his colleagues at SOM, and emphasized that SOM, more than many other practices, is a collective effort. Two other SOM architects had won the Medal of Honor — Louis Skidmore, FAIA, and Gordon Bunshaft, FAIA — but many more accolade-worthy architects had passed through the firm’s doors in its 75-year history. He listed a few, and found a handful of these former colleagues sitting in the audience.

Emily Nemens is the Communications Director at AIANY.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.