Announcing the 2020 AIANY + ASLANY Transportation + Infrastructure Design Excellence Awards

December 10, 2020

Eight transportation and infrastructure projects across the US were awarded by an independent jury of architects, designers, critics, and planners.

New York City, December 10, 2020AIA New York and ASLANY are proud to announce the winners of the 2020 AIANY + ASLA-NY Transportation + Infrastructure Design Excellence Awards. Eight projects were selected by an independent jury of architects, designers, engineers, critics, and planners.

The selected projects represent exceptional transportation and infrastructure work designed by registered architects, landscape architects, planners, and students. Each project was evaluated based on its commitment to sustainability, community engagement, and civic architecture.

Architects and landscape architects submitted entries in five categories: Open Space, Planning, Projects, Structures, and Student Work; awards were conferred for all categories except Open Space. Entries within those categories were eligible for recognition as Honors (the highest level of achievement), Merits (distinguished achievement), or Citations (exemplary achievement on specific project aspects).

Award recipients were announced and celebrated at a virtual Winners’ Event on Wednesday, December 9.

Dan Adams, Principal, Landing Studio
Peter DiMaggio, PE, SECB, Co-CEA, Thornton Tomasetti
Gina Ford, FASLA, Principal Landscape Architect, Agency Landscape + Planning
Mark Lamster, Architecture Critic, Dallas Morning News
Glenn LaRue Smith, ASLA, Principal & Co-Founder, PUSH studio
Etty Padmodipoetro, AIA, Principal & Founder, Urban Idea Lab
Deborah Weintraub, AIA, LEED AP, Chief Deputy City Engineer and Architect, City of Los Angeles





SR99 Tunnel Project
Architect: HNTB
Collaborators: Hart Crowser; HLB Lighting Design; Integrated Design Engineers; Tres West Engineers
Location: Seattle, WA

Goose Creek Rest Area
Architect: VJAA
Landscape Architect: Damon Farber
Collaborators: Hallberg Engineering; Meyer Borgman Johnson; Pierce Pini & Associates, Inc.
Location: Harris, MN




Architect: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill in association with Zyscovich Architects
Residential Architect: NBWW Architects
Landscape Architect: ESDA
Interior Design: Rockwell Group
Collaborators: Chen Moore and Associates; Code Consultants, Inc; Domingo González Associates; EAC; Moss; Pentagram; Suffolk; T.Y. Lin; TLC Engineering Solutions; URS; VDA
Location: Miami, Fort Lauderdale, and West Palm Beach, FL




Return to Service: Public Transit
Architect: AECOM
Location: New York, Paris, London, and other cities with legacy public transit systems

Brooklyn Bridge: Back to the Future
Architect: BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
Collaborators: Arup
Location: New York, NY




Good(s) Shift: Revitalizing the Port of Newburgh
Students: Antonia Medina Abell, Hugo Bovea, Sharvari Raje, and Tal Fuerst, MSAUD, 2020, Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation
Location: Newburgh, NY


Three-Dimensional Urban Thresholds
Student: Yuzhe Ma, Rhode Island School of Design, Master of Landscape Architecture, 2020
Location: Baltimore, MD


A Porous Poche
Student: Catherine Ahn, Princeton University School of Architecture, Post-Professional Master of Architecture, 2020
Collaborators: Akira Ishikura; Steven Lewis, FAIA
Location: Queens, NY


About AIA New York
Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter’s members include 5,500 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.