AIANY 2018 Presidential Theme – Architect|Activist

December 6, 2017

New York City, December 6, 2017 – On Tuesday, December 5, 2017, the AIA New York welcomed its 2018 Board of Directors at the Board Inaugural. Incoming 2018 President Gerard F.X. “Guy” Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, discussed his presidential theme, “Architect|Activist,” which invites members and professionals to use their design thinking to help solve the most challenging issues of our time.


Geier encouraged members to build on the advocacy work AIANY developed during 2017, inspiring the audience by highlighting notable role models, from grassroots activist Jane Jacobs and Sam Mockbee and his Rural Studio, to Norma Sklarek, the first black architect licensed in New York State and the first to be elevated to the AIA College of Fellows. Geier also quoted from activist Whitney Young’s acclaimed keynote at the 1968 AIA Convention, where he criticized the profession’s “thunderous silence” in the face of the Civil Rights Movement.

Geier offered a two-pronged approach to activism in architecture, distinguishing issues from within the profession, such as increasing diversity, equity, and licensure, from broader societal issues, including climate change and resiliency, preservation, and affordable housing. He also highlighted the Center for Architecture’s major 2018 exhibition, Hip Hop Architecture, which will focus on spaces, buildings, and environments that embody the creative elements Hip Hop as a cultural movement.


The inaugural also served as an opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions. Georgi Ann Bailey, CAE, Hon. AIANYS, and Mark Kruse conferred awards on behalf of AIA New York State, while AIANY’s Vice Presidents recognized the Chapter’s program committees with Vice Presidential Citations for contributions in each of our mission areas: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development.

AIA New York State Awards
Student Award: Joseph Ortiz, AIAS, NYIT
Honorary Awards:
Ramon Gilsanz, Hon. AIANYS, Partner, Gilsanz Murray Steficek
Dr. Mitchell L. Moss, Hon. AIANYS, Henry Hart Rice Professor of Urban Policy & Planning, Director of Rudin Center for Transportation Policy & Management, NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
Intern Associate Award: Delphine Daniels, Assoc. AIA, Director of Marketing and Business Development, ROGERS PARTNERS Architects+Urban Designers; Co-chair, AIANY Marketing and Communications Committee
Firm of the Year Award: nARCHITECTS (Eric Bunge, AIA, and Mimi Hoang, AIA)
Frederic Schwartz Community Development Award: Design for Aging Guidelines, NYC Department of the Aging in collaboration with AIANY Design for Aging Committee
President’s Award: Jane Smith, FAIA, Spacesmith

AIANY Vice Presidential Citations
Citation for Design Excellence: AIANY Social Science and Research Committee and AIANY Architecture for Education Committee for the Medgar Evers College Collaborative Research Project
AIANY Citation for Public Outreach: AIANY Transportation and Infrastructure Committee for the Transportation and Infrastructure Policy Framework
AIANY Citation for Professional Development: AIANY New Practices Committee for “New Local” event series

The American Institute of Architects New York 2018 Board of Directors

Gerard F.X. Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP

Hayes Slade, AIA
First Vice President / President-Elect

Jennifer Sage, FAIA, LEED AP
Vice President for Design Excellence

Andrea Lamberti, AIA, NCARB
Vice President for Professional Development

Kim Yao, AIA
Vice President for Public Outreach

Faith Rose, AIA

Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA

Karen Fairbanks, AIA
Director for Educational Affairs

Marc Heiman
Director for Industry Affairs

F. Eric Goshow, AIA, LEED AP
Director for Legislative Affairs

Illya Azaroff, AIA
Director for Programs and Strategic Planning

Andrea Monfried
Director for Publications

Laurie D. Kerr, FAIA, LEED AP
Director for Sustainability

Michael Szivos, Assoc. AIA
Associate Director

Regina Myer
Public Director

Anthony Schuman
Public Director for Educational Affairs

Paul A. Bello, PE
Public Director for Development Affairs

Maxine Griffith, AICP
Public Director for Professional Affairs

Yomna Abu Dabat
Director for Student Affairs

Heidi Kippenhan, AIA
Alternate Director for Design Excellence

Scott Briggs, AIA
Alternate Director for Professional Development

Dina Frank, AIA, IIDA
Alternate Director for Public Outreach

David Piscuskas, FAIA
Immediate Past President

Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA
Executive Director

About Gerard F.X. Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP
An architect and interior designer with 38 years of experience in the design and management of corporate and institutional projects, Guy is the Managing Partner of FXFOWLE Architects as well as having responsibility for the firm’s Corporate and Interior Design practice.

Guy has completed buildings and interiors for a wide range of clients, including SAP, the National Audubon Society, Rockefeller Brothers Fund, Disney, Mitsui Fudosan, Asia Society, Columbia University, and the Javits Center.

Geier is a fellow of both the AIA and the International Interior Design Association. He serves on the Dean’s Advisory Board at the University of Virginia School of Architecture where he received both a Bachelor of Science and Master’s Degree in Architecture.

About AIA New York
Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter’s members include 5,500 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.