Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
October 29, 2015
by Camila Schaulson Frenz
Adam D. Weinberg, Director, Whitney Museum of American Art; Deputy Mayor Alicia Glen; Cynthia Kracauer, AIA, Managing Director, Center for Architecture; Tomas Rossant, AIA, 2015 President, AIA New York Chapter; Joe Tortorella, 2015 President, Center for Architecture; David Rockwell, Founder and CEO, Rockwell Group; Jed Walentas, Principal, Two Trees Management Company; David Bruney, FAIA, Interim Executive Director, AIANY/Center for Architecture; and Mithcell Silver, Commissioner, NYC ParksCredit: Sam Lahoz
Sarwat Yunis, Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture, City College of New York; Ashly Cabrera, Williamsburg High School of Architecture and Design; Tanvi Sanghvi, Syracuse Univeristy School of Architecture; and Sydney Cochran, Pratt Institute School of ArtCredit: Sam Lahoz
Senator Chuck Schumer gave remarks at the 2015 Heritage Ball.Credit: Sam Lahoz
Honoree Deputy Mayor Alicia GlenCredit: Sam Lahoz
Honoree Jed Walentas, Two Trees Management CompanyCredit: Sam Lahoz
Honoree David Rockwell, FAIA, Rockwell GroupCredit: Sam Lahoz
Honoree Adam D. Weinberg, Whitney Museum of American Art with Joseph Tortorella, Center for ArchitectureCredit: Sam Lahoz
The evening continued at the Party@theCenter!Credit: Sam Lahoz

The AIANY and Center for Architecture Heritage Ball welcomed more than 1,100 AEC professionals to Chelsea Piers Pier Sixty on 10.22.15.Thanks to our generous donors and the efforts of the Center’s tireless Dinner Committee, we raised more than $1.5 million to support the Center for Architecture’s exhibitions, programs, and public events.

Although networking is part of the Heritage Ball’s draw, the design community also comes together to honor individuals who are committed to excellence in the built environment. This year, the Ball honored Deputy Mayor Alicia Glen; David Rockwell, FAIA, Rockwell Group; Jed Walentas, Two Trees Management Company; and Adam D. Weinberg, Whitney Museum of Art.

Each honoree was invited to select an academic program to receive a scholarship for one of its students. Congratulations to Sarwat Yunis, BFA candidate at the Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture at the City College of New York; Tanvi Sanghvi, BA candidate at Syracuse University School of Architecture; Ashly Cabrera, senior at Williamsburg High School of Architecture and Design; and Sydney Cochran, BA candidate at Pratt Institute School of Architecture

The AIA New York Chapter continues to work with our local, state, and federal governments to advocate on behalf of architects and a better built environment. This year, we were joined by many notable officials, including NYC Department of Buildings Commissioner Rick Chandler, DOB Commissioner Feniosky Pena-Mora, Parks Commissioner Mitchell Silver, Landmarks Preservation Chair Meenakshi Srinivasan, Department of City Planning Commissioner Carl Weisbrod, and Senator Chuck Schumer.

Thank you all who attended! We hope to see you next year at Heritage Ball 2016.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.