Press Contact: Camila Schaulsohn 212.358.6114, cschaulsohn@aiany.org

# AIA New York Elects 2019 Leadership at the 151st Annual Meeting

AIA New York elected new leadership, revised bylaws, and welcomed Center for Architecture President Barry Bergdoll

**New York City, June 13, 2018** – On Tuesday, June 12, 2018, AIA New York hosted its **151**<sup>st</sup> **Annual Meeting**, where members elected 2019 leadership, made amendments to the chapter's bylaws, and celebrated the achievements of 2018. The evening also served as an opportunity to welcome incoming **Center for Architecture President Barry Bergdoll**.

#### **NEW LEADERSHIP**

After presenting on the state of the chapter, from program initiatives and advocacy to its financial health and membership, 2018 President Gerard F.X. Geier, II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, turned over the podium to AIANY Board Secretary Faith Rose, AIA, who presented the work of the nominating committee in creating the 2019 slate and reviewing AIANY's bylaws to better serve the membership. Present members voted in favor of the amendments and confirmed the committee's slate, which is available below.

Following the election of the 2019 board and elective committees, **2014-2017 Center for Architecture President Tom Krizmanic, AIA**, reviewed the organization's 2018 achievements before introducing incoming Center President Barry Bergdoll. Bergdoll, the Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and a renowned scholar and curator, has served on the Center for Architecture's board for the past four years. He will assume his duties on July 1, 2018

"I am very honored to serve as the next President of New York's Center for Architecture, a vital and essential place where the design professions and the general public from school children to New York citizens to tourists meet one another to learn and exchange views and ideas," said Bergdoll. "With its transparent facade offering views deep into its inner workings, the Center for Architecture is a place where design and the public good meet...But most importantly it is committed to crafting a built environment that is resilient in the face of the enormous challenges before us, from climate change, to dramatic social and economic equality, to the fragility of the public sector and the threats continuously posed to civic discourse. Architecture has a stake in all these issues."

# **AIANY CHAPTER RECOGNITION**

The Annual Meeting also served as an opportunity to recognize members of the architecture and design community for their local and regional contributions.

<u>Honorary Member</u>: Gregory Wessner, Executive Director, Open House New York <u>George S. Lewis Award</u>: Signe Nielsen, Hon. AIANY, FASLA, Principal, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects

<u>Public Architect Award</u>: Risa Honig, AIA, Vice President, Capital Planning & Construction, New York Public Library

<u>Harry B. Rutkins Award</u>: Ron Younkins, Chief of Operations, NYS Office of Court Administration <u>Andrew J. Thomas Housing Award</u>: Bowery Residence Committee (BRC) <u>Special Citation</u>: Eva Franch i Gilabert, incoming Director, Architectural Association, former Chief Curator and Executive Director, Storefront for Art and Architecture

#### 2019 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

**Hayes Slade, AIA**, Slade Architecture *President* 

**Kim Yao, AIA**, Architecture Research Office *First Vice President / President-Elect* 

**Daniel Wood, FAIA**, WORK Architecture Company Vice President for Design Excellence

**Andrea Lamberti, AIA, NCARB**, Rafael Viñoly Architects

Vice President for Professional Development

**Matthew Bremer, AIA**, Architecture in Formation

Vice President for Public Outreach

**Faith Rose, AIA**, O'Neill Rose Architects Secretary

**Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA**, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

Treasurer

**Scott Briggs, AIA**, Lee H. Skolnick Architecture & Design Partner *Director* 

Karen Fairbanks, AIA, Marble Fairbanks Director

**Dina Frank, AIA, IIDA**, Mancini Duffy *Director* 

**F. Eric Goshow, AIA, LEED AP**, Goshow Architects

Director for Legislative Affairs

**Laurie D. Kerr, FAIA, LEED AP**, LK Policy Lab *Director* 

**2019 ELECTIVE COMMITTEE SLATE** 

**Heidi Kippenhan, AIA,** I-Grace *Director* 

**Pascale Sablan, AIA**, S9Architecture *Director* 

**Ayodele Yusuf, Assoc. AIA**, Perkins Eastman *Director, Associate Member Affairs* 

**Paul A. Bello, PE**, AKF Group *Public Director* 

**Maxine Griffith, AICP**, Columbia University Office of Public Affairs *Public Director* 

**Marc Heiman**, Richter+Ratner *Public Director* 

**Andrea Monfried**, The Images Publishing Group

Public Director, Oculus Advisor

**Regina Myer**, Downtown Brooklyn Partnership *Public Director* 

**Monica Ponce de Leon, AIA**, Princeton University *Public Director* 

**Elaine Gamolo, AIAS**, New Jersey Institute of Technology Student Director

Gerard F.X. Geier II, FAIA, FIIDA, LEED AP, FXCollaborative

Immediate Past President

Benjamin Prosky, Assoc. AIA Executive Director

# Design Awards Committee:

Lance Jay Brown, FAIA, Lance Jay Brown Architecture/Urban Design Frances Halsband, FAIA, Kliment Halsband Architects Everardo Jefferson, AIA, Caples Jefferson Architects Elaine Molinar, AIA, Snøhetta

#### Fellows Committee:

Terrence O'Neal, FAIA, Terrence O'Neal Architect Nicole Dosso, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill Frances Huppert, FAIA Jeffrey Murphy, FAIA, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects Ann Marie Baranowski, FAIA, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects Lisa Gould, FAIA, Lisa Gould Architect

#### Joint Finance Committee:

Katherine Chia, FAIA, Desai Chia Architecture Kenneth Ricci, FAIA, Ricci Greene Associates Kate Dundes Shattan, AIA, Gustavson/Dundes Architecture & Design Christopher Reynolds, AIA, AvalonBay Communities Glen Erikson, AIA, Time Equities C. Tim Milam, AIA, FXCollaborative

#### **Honors Committee:**

Christopher Cooper, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill Elizabeth Leber, AIA, Beyer Blinder Belle Robert Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners Louise Braverman, FAIA, Louise Braverman Architect David Burney, FAIA, Pratt Institute Astrid Lipka, AIA, Rice+Lipka Architects

# Oculus Committee:

Jacob Reidel, AIA, Ennead Architects
Jessica Sheridan, AIA, Mancini Duffy
Stephen Yablon, AIA, Stephen Yablon Architecture
Alan Brake, Assoc. AIA, Deborah Berke Partners
Julia Chapman, AIA, Ennead Architects
Lori Brown, AIA, Syracuse University

# **About AIA New York**

Founded in 1857, AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The Chapter's members include 5,500 practicing architects, allied professionals, students, and public members interested in architecture and design. AIA New York is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach, and professional development. <a href="www.aiany.org">www.aiany.org</a>