October 27, 2016
by Camila Schaulson Frenz

The winners of the 2016 American Architecture Prize include New York City-based Gensler for Shanghai Tower (Architectural Design of the Year); FXFOWLE for Allianz Tower; Studio Link-arc for Oct Tower Shenzhen and China Pavilion for Expo Milano 2015; Trahan Architects for the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Regional History Museum; ROGERS PARTNERS Architects+Urban Designers for the Henderson Hopkins School; ZGF Architects for the GSA Federal Center South Building 1202, Pearl Izumi North American Headquarters, and the Stanford Central Energy Facility; Perkins+Will and HDR for Hartford Hospital – Orthopedic and Joint Institute; Dean/Wolf Architects for Restless Response: Queens Hospital Emergency Medical Station; Arup Associates for the New Doha Tennis Stadium and Cityringen Copenhagen Metro; Desai Chia Architecture for Photographer’s Loft and Michigan Lake House; BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group for VIA 57 WEST; Ssd for Songpa Micro-Housing; RAAD studio for Nolita Loft; Architecture Workshop for Pivot; SPAN Architecture for Hyatt Times Square; Reddymade Architecture & Design for Dream Machine by Wer2; and Henrybuilt for Henrybuilt Showroom New York.

Sylvia Smith, FAIA, LEED AP, has been named a 2016 Woman of Distinction by the Girl Scouts of Greater New York…New Yorkers for Parks will honor Adrian Benepe, Hon. ASLA, Senior Vice President at the Trust for Public Land and former NYC Parks Commissioner, and Maria Torres-Springer, President and CEO of the NYC Economic Development Corporation.

SWA/Balsley will open as the successor firm of Thomas Balsley Associates with Thomas Balsley, FASLA, as Principal.

Abe Jasinowski, Assoc. AIA, LEED GA, has joined FXFOWLE as Director of Business Development…Carly Jacobson has been promoted to Design Director at TPG ArchitectureBranko Potocnik, NCIDQ, and Kevin Lee have been named Associate Principals at CetraRuddy.




Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.