What projects are eligible?

Single-family residential work of any type—including new construction or rehabilitation—is eligible.

Projects that have been honored by prior Housing Design Awards juries are ineligible, as is work by jurors or by their firms.

Who is eligible to submit?

Anyone is eligible to submit. AIA New York and Massachusetts AIA members receive special pricing

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed professionals, including interior architects or interior designers, may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional.

Where must eligible projects be located?

Projects by New England and New York City design professional may be located anywhere.

Projects by others must be located in New England or New York City.

When must have eligible projects been built?

Projects must have been completed between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2019

Submission Instructions

Visit the BSA Design Awards submission page, create an account or log in, and submit.

Entry fees

AIA Massachusetts and AIA New York members pay $150 for their first submission and $100 for subsequent submissions.

Non-members pay $250 for their first submission and $200 for subsequent submissions.


The judging criterion is design excellence as defined by the jury.

The jury may view projects independently on a computer screen; the jury will view projects as a group on a projector screen.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.