What projects are eligible?

Projects with more than four units—including new construction or rehabilitation of private-sector or public-sector projects—are eligible.

We encourage firms to highlight the socioeconomic impact of their submission on its community as a basis of design.

Projects that have been honored by prior Housing Design Awards juries are ineligible, as is work by jurors or by their firms.

Submissions in which materials refer in any way to the submitters or associated parties will be disqualified.

Who is eligible to submit?

Anyone is eligible to submit. Massachusetts AIA and AIANY members receive special pricing.

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed design professionals, including interior architects or interior designers, may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional.

Where must eligible projects be located?

Projects by New England and New York City design professionals may be located anywhere.

Projects by others must be located in New England or New York City.

When must have eligible projects been built?

Projects must have been completed between January 1, 2014 and December 21, 2020.

Submission Instructions

Visit the BSA Design Awards submission page, create an account or log in, and submit.

Entry fees

AIA Massachusetts and AIA New York members pay $150 for their first submission and $100 for subsequent submissions.

Non-members pay $250 for their first submission and $200 for subsequent submissions.


Judging criteria will be based on the AIA Framework for Design Excellence.

The jury may choose to honor projects by building type or other categories or they may choose to make no such distinctions.

The jury will meet in the Fall of 2021.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.