Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.



Eligible projects may be new construction or rehabilitations of any private-sector or public-sector project types completed after January 1, 2006.

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed architecture graduates may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional.

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.

Entry fees

The non-refundable fee for the first submission is $125 for Massachusetts and AIANY members, and $200 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $85 for Massachusetts and AIANY members and $135 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)

Submission Instructions

Complete the entry form and mail it with your entry fee and design materials to:

BSA Housing Design Awards
Boston Society of Architects
290 Congress Street
Boston, MA 02210

All submissions must reach the BSA by 4:00 pm EST on May 12, 2017. Conceal references to the architecture firm on all materials submitted for the jury’s review.

Group 5 Created with Sketch.
Eric Bunge, AIA
Co-Founding Principal, nARCHITECTS

Bunge is a co-founding Principal of nARCHITECTS, and an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University. Eric received a Master of Architecture from Harvard University and a Bachelor of Architecture from McGill University.

nARCHITECTS is a Brooklyn based architecture office led by Principals Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang. Founded in 1999 with the aim of joining innovative concepts, social responsibility and technical innovation in architecture, the work of the practice encompasses buildings and public spaces. Honors and awards include an Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Architecture, an AIA National Institute Honor Award, the AIA NY Andrew J. Thomas Award for Pioneers in Housing, several AIA NY Design Honor Awards, the Architectural League’s Emerging Voices, and ranking by Architecture Magazine within the top 10 in the US (design category) from 2014-16.

Group 5 Created with Sketch.
Adam Snow Frampton, AIA
Principal, Only If

Adam is the Principal of Only If, a New York City-based design practice for architecture and urbanism. Only If was founded in 2013 and is currently engaged in a range of projects, from the design of a single-family housing prototype to larger-scale urban planning, research and speculation. Adam Frampton is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at Columbia University GSAPP and co-author of Cities Without Ground (2012). He previous worked for seven years as an Associate at OMA in Rotterdam and Hong Kong. He holds an M.Arch from Princeton University and is a registered architect in the Netherlands and the US.

Group 5 Created with Sketch.
Maria Hurtado de Mendoza
Co-Founder, estudio.entresitio

International award-winning architect and the co-founder of estudio.entresitio,, Maria Hurtado de Mendoza is an associate professor of architecture at New Jersey Institute of Technology. Prior to NJIT, she taught at Madrid School of Architecture ETSAM for 15 years, and Cornell University. Estudio.entresitio is a Madrid-NY based practice with extensive building experience in housing and health-care architecture, in many cases the result of winning competition entries. The latest success is the 1st Prize for the National Museum of Memory to be built in Bogotá, Colombia together with MGP. Entresitio was recipient of two Honor Awards at the BSA’s 2014 Housing Design Awards for the project 132 subsidized dwellings in Vallecas and the #house#1.130, both in Madrid, Spain.

Group 5 Created with Sketch.
Tamara Roy, AIA

Tamara is an architect and urban designer specializing in residential, academic, and mixed use master planning projects. Voted one of Boston's Top 50 Power Women in Real Estate, she was the design team leader for the new residence tower at MassArt, described as ‘the most interesting highrise in years’ by the Boston Globe. Her design portfolio includes luxury, mixed market, and affordable housing such as Troy Boston in the South End and 225 Centre Street in Jackson Square, academic projects at Massart, Cornell, Dartmouth, and UMass Lowell, and the Yotel, a micro hotel on Seaport Boulevard. This experience serves to inform her master planning practice. Tamara received her Bachelor of Architecture from Carnegie-Mellon, and her Masters of Urban Design and Architecture from the Berlage Institute, an international think-tank in Amsterdam. She served as the President of the Boston Society of Architects in 2016.

Group 5 Created with Sketch.
Josh Safdie, AIA NCARB
Principal, Kessler McGuinness & Associates

Josh Safdie, AIA is a Principal at Kessler McGuinness & Associates, where he directs accessibility planning and Universal Design projects in higher education, multi-family housing, health care, and historic preservation. Prior to joining KMA, Mr. Safdie was director of the studio at the Institute for Human Centered Design. He has received awards from the Boston Society of Architects, Massachusetts Architectural Access Board, and Boston Preservation Alliance for projects merging preservation and accessibility. He also serves as the co-chair of the Boston Society of Architects’ Access Committee. Mr. Safdie is a Visiting Associate Professor at Massachusetts College of Art and Design, where his teaching was recognized with a 2013 Berkeley Prize Teaching Fellowship in Universal Design.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.