The American Institute of Architects Elevates 17 AIANY Members to the College of Fellows

March 13, 2019

NEW YORK, New York, March 13, 2019 – The 2019 Jury of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 115 of its members, including 17 AIANY members, to its prestigious College of Fellows. The AIA Fellowship program recognizes architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession.

AIANY celebrated its newly elevated local members at a reception yesterday, March 12, at the Center for Architecture. All new Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the 2019 AIA Conference on Architecture in Las Vegas at the Smith Center for the Performing Arts.

Out of a total AIA membership of over 90,000 members, fewer than 4% are distinguished with the honor of fellowship and honorary fellowship. The elevation to fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in AIA, based on demonstrated achievement in one or more of the following nomination categories (also known as Objects):

  1. Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession
    2. Advanced the science and art of planning and building by furthering the standards of architectural education, training, and practice
    3. Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations
    4. Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment
    5. Made the profession of ever-increasing service to society

Included in the list below are the newly elevated AIANY members and object for which they were elevated.


Raya Ani, FAIA, RAW-NYC Architects
Kai-Uwe Bergmann, FAIA
, BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
Joseph Brancato, FAIA, Gensler
Stephen Cassell, FAIA
, Architecture Research Office (ARO)
Jared Della Valle, FAIA
, Alloy
Melissa DelVecchio, FAIA, Robert A.M. Stern Architects
Bruce Eisenberg, FAIA
, New York City Housing Authority
Nicholas Garrison, FAIA
, FXCollaborative
John Gering, FAIA
, HLW International
Sandra McKee, FAIA, Yoshihara Mckee Architect
Julia Monk, FAIA, HOK
Lyn Rice, FAIA, Rice+Lipka Architects
Mary Elizabeth Rusz, FAIA
, New York City Housing Authority
Joel Sanders, FAIA
, Joel Sanders, Architect
Dennis Wedlick, FAIA
, BarlisWedlick Architects
Andrew Whalley, FAIA
, Grimshaw Architects
Richard Yancey, FAIA, Building Energy Exchange

About AIA New York
AIA New York is the oldest and largest chapter of the American Institute of Architects with more than 5,600 architect, allied professional, and student members. AIANY is dedicated to three goals: design excellence, public outreach and professional development.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.