Winners of 2005 AIA New York Chapter Design Awards

Press release


Honor Awards

Polshek Partnership Architects
William J. Clinton Presidential Center
Little Rock, Arkansas
The Clinton Foundation

Richard Meier & Partners Architects
Frieder Burda Collection Museum
Sammlung Frieder Burda

weisz + yoes architecture + urban design
Bronx Charter School for the Arts
Bronx, New York
Civic Builders

Steven Holl Architects
Whitney Water Purification Facility and Park
South Central Connecticut
South Central Connecticut Regional Water Authority

Eisenman Architects
Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe
Berlin, Germany
Stiftung Denkmal für ermordeten Juden Europas

Merit Awards

Platt Byard Dovell White
Saginaw Art Museum Addition
Saginaw, Michigan
Saginaw Art Museum

Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
House on Eastern Long Island
Shelter Island, New York
Confidential Client

Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
De Hoftoren
The Hague, The Netherlands
RGD-Government Building Department

Gluckman Mayner Architects
Museo Picasso Malaga
Malaga, Spain
Fundacion Museo Picasso Malaga

Ohlhausen DuBois Architects
Klein Residence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Michael and Jeanne Klein

Polshek Partnership Architects
Brooklyn Museum Entry Pavilion and Plaza
Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn Museum

William Nicholas Bodouva & Associates
West Midtown Ferry Terminal
New York, New York
New York City Economic Development Corporation

Gluckman Mayner Architects
Sculpture Garden Pavilion
Bridgehampton, New York
Confidential Client

Weiss/Manfredi Architects
Smith College Campus Center
Northhampton, Massachusetts
Smith College

Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated
The Samuel Priest Rose Building
New York, New York
Jewish Community Center

Helfand Architecture
Automated Trading Desk Technology Campus
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
Automated Trading Desk

SHoP Architects
The Porter House
New York, New York
Jeffrey M. Brown Associates

Interior Architecture

Honor Awards

Davis Brody Bond
Human Rights in China, NY Headquarters
New York NY
Human Rights in China

Voorsanger Architects
Elie Tahari Fashion Design Office and Warehouse
Millburn New Jersey
Elie Tahari

Richard Meier & Partners Architects
66 Restaurant
New York
Suarez Restaurant Group & Jean Georges Enterprises

Bentel & Bentel Architects / Planners
The Modern
New York
Union Square Hospital Group

Merit Awards

LTL Architects
Xing Restaurant
New York NY
Michael Lagudis & Chow Down Management Inc.

Steven Harris Architects
Elmhurst, NY

Alspector Anderson Architects
Conservation Dept. The Museum of Modern Art.
New York NY
Conservation Dept. Museum of Modern Art.

Asymptote Architecture
Carlos Miele Flagship store
New York NY
Carlos Miele

Studios Architecture
Bloomberg LP Headquarters
New York NY
Bloomberg LP

Granary Associates
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Claire Tow Pediatric Pavilion
New York NY
George Mejias

Leven Betts Studio
Mixed Greens Gallery
New York NY
Mixed Greens

Edelman Sultan Knox Wood Architects
O'Dwyer Gardens Community Center
Brooklyn, NY
NY City Housing Authority


Honor Awards

Shigeru Ban Architects
Nomadic Museum
New York, New York
Bianimale Foundation

The Museum of Modern Art / P.S.1
New York, New York
The Museum of Modern Art / P.S.1

Balmori. Sanders / Joel Sanders Architect and Balmori Associates
Staten Island Olympic Equestrian Facility
Staten Island, New York
NYC 2012

Skidmore Owing & Merrill
United States Census Bureau Headquarters
Suitland, MD
US General Services Adm. National Capital Region, Washington DC

Hellmuth, Obata + Kassabaum
Harlem Hospital New Patient Pavilion
New York, New York
Dormitory Authority of the State of New York
NYC Health & Hospitals Corporation
Harlem Hospital

Weiss /Manfredi Architects
Barnard Nexus
New York , NY
Barnard College

Marble Fairbanks
Expanded Alliances : Industry & Beyond
New York, New York
Department of Art History and Archaeology, Columbia University

Merit Awards

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Deerfield Academy Koch Center for Science, Math & Technology
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Deerfield Academy

LTL Architects
Park Tower
Generic American City
Architectural Record

FXFOWLE Architects / STV Inc
Nassau County Centre Major Investment Study
Nassau County, New York
Nassau County

Rogers Marvel Architects
New York City Financial District
Streetscape + Security
New York, New York
NYC Department of City Planning
Lower Manhattan Development Corporation
NYC Economic Development Corporation

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
New York, New York
City University of New York
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Dormitory Authority of the State of NY


Stefan Behnisch RIBA
Behnisch, Behnisch & Partner
Stuttgart, Germany

David Heymann
David Heymann, Architect
Austin, Texas

John Patkau, Hon. AIA
Patkau Architects
Vancouver, British Columbia

Mario Gooden AIA
Huff + Gooden Architects
Charleston, South Carolina

Luca Merlini
m+v merlini and ventura architects
Lausanne, Switzerland

James Timberlake FAIA
Kieran Timberlake Associates
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Carol Burns AIA
Taylor & Burns Architects
Boston, Massachusetts

Louisa Hutton RIBA
Sauerbruch Hutton Architects
Berlin, Germany

Ronald Krueck FAIA
Krueck & Sexton Architects
Chicago, Illinois