ENYA Prize: Sangmok Kim and Sungwoo Kim (Edgewater, NJ)

Second Prize: Ian Gordon (NY, NY)

Third Prize: Carola Anton Garcia and Gabriel Walti (Seville, Spain)

Student Prize: Kyuseon Hong (NY, NY)

Honorable Mention: Thomas Tsang and Ken Suzuki (Brooklyn, NY)

Honorable Mention: Daniel Zajsek(Hamburg, Germany)

Honorable Mention: Pedro Alcaraz(Madrid, Spain)

Honorable Mention: Han Hsi Ho(NY, NY)

Honorable Mention: Diego Ceresuela Wiesmann
Monica Villalba de Madariaga
Ignacio Alvarez-Monteserin Lahoz
Manuel Alvarez-Monteserin Lahoz
(Madrid, Spain)

The first place entry will receive international recognition in the form of the ENYA Prize, a cash award of $6,000. The winner will also receive an invitation to participate on the jury of the 4th biennial ENYA international ideas competition in 2010.

The second prize winner will receive $2,500; the third prize winner will receive $1,000.

A student prize of $1,000 will be awarded to a full time student, enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program as of September 15, 2005.

Additional awards may be given at the discretion of ENYA.

ENYA and the AIA New York Chapter will display the winners, honorable mentions and jury selections at the Center for Architecture in New York City. Further, all entries will be displayed via a virtual gallery on The South Street Seaport : Re-envisioning the Urban Edge competition will culminate with the publication of selected entries in a catalog, distributed internationally by the American Institute of Architects New York Chapter. To see the winners of the last ENYA competition, order the 2006 ENYA Biennial International Ideas Competition Catalog, Southpoint : From Ruin to Rejuvination. (See Shop section)


  • Nina Baniahmad
  • Sara Caples
  • Maya Thurlow Small
  • Eeva Liisa Pelkonen
  • Michael Sorkin
  • Calvin Tsao
  • Nina Baniahmad

    Nina Baniahmad was born in Teheran, Iran and grew up in Vienna, Austria, where she pursued her education in architecture at the Technical University of Vienna. Throughout her years of study, while greatly influenced by the architecture of Austria, she travelled to France several times to work with renowned architects Massimiliano Fuksas and Nicolas Michelin. She augmented her university experience by studying at the Ecole d'Architecture de la Villette in Paris, France.
    Nina's thesis project was exhibited in Vienna and acclaimed as one of the best projects of her university for the years of 2005-2006. She was also one of a group of architects selected by the American opera director Peter Sellars to create architectural projects for the festival "New Crowned Hope," presented in Vienna in 2006.
    After winning the Enya Prize in 2006 and finishing her professional architecture degree, Nina relocated to Paris. She worked with the architecture team at Louis Vuitton on the Hong Kong flagship store, before beginning her present work with RFR, an office of structural engineers and architects specializing in the conception of complex structures and facade design. She is currently working on the Grand Egyptian Museum in Cairo, Egypt.

    Back to top

    Sara Caples

    Sara Caples, AIA is a Principal at Caples Jefferson Architects. Recently selected to design the Louis Armstrong House Museum Visitors Center, Caples Jefferson has previously designed the visitors center for Historic Weeksville (the noted African-American heritage site in Brooklyn)and the expansion of Queens Theatre-in-the-Park. In 1998, the Architectural League honored Caples Jefferson Architects as an Emerging Voice. Caples Jefferson has received awards from the NYC Art Commission, the NY Chapter AIA,. the National AIA Design Award, and the National Organization of Minority Architects.

    Back to top

    Maya Thurlow Small

    Maia Thurlow Small is a founding partner of TSa, where she utilizes her design area of expertise in architecture and urban design. Her current work includes the development of two urban scale projects in Rhode Island : the revitalization of downtown Pawtucket and the development of Fields Point in Providence (in partnership with Enrique Martinez and several RISD students). She currently serves on the City of Pawtucket Riverfront Commission, as a steering committee member of the Pawtucket Riverfront Commission, the Pawtucket Alliance for Downtown Success, and as part of the Pawtucket Foundation Plan to Plan Group.
    Small completed her MArch degree at Columbia University where she recieved the Henry J. Adams AIA Medal, and earned her BA in Architecture with highest honors at the University of California, Berkeley. From 2000 to 2004, she was an Assistant Professor at the University of Tennessee, College of Architecture + Design. She has also taught at the Rhode Island School of Design, Harvard University, and Northeastern

    Back to top

    Eeva Liisa Pelkonen

    Eeva-Liisa Pelkonen teaches architectural history, theory and design at Yale School of Architecture. She received her M.Arch from Tampere Technical University, a Masters of Environmental Design from Yale, and a Ph.D. from Columbia University. She worked as an architect in various European countries, most notably with Raili and Reima Pietila in Helsinki, Finland and Volker Giencke in Graz, Austria. She is currently a design associate of Turner Brooks Architects in New Haven. Her scholarly work focuses on the language of modern architecture viewed from various national and historical perspectives. She is an author of Achtung Architektur! Image and Phantasm in Contemporary Austrian Architecture (MIT Press 1996); Eero Saarinen: Shaping the Future, which is co-edited by Donald Albrecht (Yale University Press, 2006). Her third book Alvar Aalto: The Geopolitics of Architecture will be published in 2008, also by Yale University Press. She is currently working on a book and exhibition on Kevin Roche. Her scholarly work has been supported by the Getty, the Graham Foundation, Finnish Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Austrian Ministry of Science and Research.

    Back to top

    Michael Sorkin

    Author, professor, principal, Michael Sorkin Studio

    Back to top

    Calvin Tsao

    Calvin Tsao co-founded Tsao & McKown Architects in 1985. Their body of work spans a broad range of scales and typologies from domestic, civic and commercial architecture to product, furniture, and exhibition design. Mr. Tsao is currently president of The Architectural League of New York (2006), has served as the Vice President for Design Excellence (2002-2003) at the AIA NY Chapter, and is a member of the Harvard University Board of Overseers (2005-2007). Mr. Tsao also participates as a mentor of young architects via the AIA New York Chapter and the Harvard Graduate School of Design (President of the Alumni/ae Council 2001-2006). He has taught at Harvard (Eliot Noyes Visiting Critic in Architecture, Harvard GSD, 1999-2000) and Parsons School of Design. He graduated from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design in 1979.

    Back to top